SATTERLEE LEADS ALL THE WAY FOR LATE MODEL TRIUMPH - Singleton Scores Emotional Spring Championship Remembering Huey Wilcoxon

Date: 5/4/2014 7:09:59 PM

For Immediate Release                      May 4, 2014



Singleton Scores Emotional Spring Championship Remembering Huey Wilcoxon



HAGERSTOWN, MD. – Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, PA went all the way in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model 25-lap feature Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol LLC.  Leading from the pole following a four wide salute to Paul “Huey” Wilcoxon who passed away unexpectedly two weeks ago, he posted the win by more than five seconds over Glenn Elliott.

“Starting spot is always a big factor in these races,” said first heat winner Satterlee, who spun the wheel for the heads up start. “I think we had a good car. I don’t know if we’d have started back how we would have fared out. Getting into lapped traffic, it was getting hard to pass. We had a good car; it was just a good night. Huey was a very good guy. It definitely was a good tribute to him. I know he won’t ever be forgotten. We were all racing for him tonight.”

Starting seventh, Rick Singleton, Martinsburg, WV, took over the lead on lap 16 of the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman 25-lap Spring Championship to hold off earlier leader Terry Flaherty by .224 second and pick up the $1,000 victory.

“Quite frankly, when I pulled up here (victory lane), I could hardly contain myself,” said Singleton, who has been working out of Wilcoxon’s Martinsburg shop. “Huey was a great friend and great race car builder. The first day I met Huey, I went up to Gary Stuhler and said, “You know what, I want what you have” and he pointed at Huey and that was years ago and we’ve been winning races ever since.  I can’t even talk about it as I get emotional. We lost a great friend. It’s awesome to win this race tonight. This make four wins in a row.  I wanted this so badly tonight. It’s tough to lose a guy like that. We talked to him a half hour before he died.”

Craig Parrill of Clearbrook, Va. scored his first ever Hagerstown win in the K.Lynn Management Pure Stocks while Jamie Mills of Big Pool, Md. posted his season second victory in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks. Ryan Laye of Ft. Loudon, Pa. took his season fourth checkered in the Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders. 

Satterlee was quickly on the gas and heading into the first turn as third starter got into second ahead of Justin Kann. By the only caution on lap four, Satterlee had stretched his lead to more than four seconds. 

Elliott grabbed second on the restart while Satterlee closed on the rear of the field by the 12th lap and started through the traffic. With five to go, there were three cars separating him from Elliott as Moreland closed in the final laps and made a bid for the runner up spot but Elliott held on and trailed Satterlee by 5.275 seconds. Kann ended fourth ahead of 11th starting Roy Deese Jr... C.S. Fitzgerald came from 16th to sixth ahead of Allen Brannon, Steve Axtell Jr., Brian Tavenner, and Rusty Sites. Satterlee, Kann and Moreland were heat winners while

In the four car invert, Terry Flaherty sped from the second turn ahead of Paul Cursey in the Late Model Sportsman Spring Championship event while Frankie Plessinger took third from Scott Palmer following a sixth lap restart. Cursey then grabbed the top spot from Flaherty on an 11th lap restart but Singleton was coming forward and into second the next lap. Singleton made his first challenge on the 14th lap and came away with the lead two laps later when Cursey’s car became noticeably slower and began to lose positions.  

Singleton toured the half mile while Flaherty began to close in with two to go, but Singleton was determined to get the win as Flaherty settled for the runner up spot over Plessinger, Palmer and Kyle Lear. Heats went to Palmer, Jonathan DeHaven Jr., Cursey and Flaherty while Justin Weaver and Bobby Beard won the consies for the 41 entries. Co-prompter Ernie Davis added four additional cars to the feature line-up.

Starting outside pole, Parrill took the Pure Stock lead from Keith Koontz on the second lap and held the spot following two restarts as Mike Corbin and Mike Franklin moved into the next spots to battle for the runner up spot ad Franklin challenged in the final two laps to grab the position from Corbin and trail Parrill by .761 second to post the win in only his second ever start at the track. Tony Catlett and Koontz completed the top five.

Jamie Mills started fourth in the Hobby Stocks and weaved pasted the front runners to grab the lead on the opening lap and soon had other winners Kenny Thomas and Gary Proctor chasing. Proctor took second from Thomas on the seventh lap as Thomas slowed and dropped out with two laps to go while Mills held a three length lead over Proctor at the finish. Dylan Wels, Bryan Neff and William Crook completed the top five.

The Four Cylinders went all the way under green as polesitter Frank Gordon’s racer balked on the start with Gary Newell taking over until his car also developed a problem on the second lap. Laye drove by with Ethan Ours following. Ed Gageby, Justin Hottle and Kevin Thomas were separated by no more than two lengths and they continued on to finish that way.  

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models, 25 Laps: 1.Gregg Satterlee, 2.Glenn Elliott, 3.Kenny Moreland, 4.Justin Kann, 5.Roy Deese Jr., 6.C.S. Fitzgerald, 7.Allen Brannon, 8.Steve Axtell Jr., 9.Brian Tavenner, 10.Rusty Sites, 11.MarvinWinters, 12.Jason Miller, 13.Trevor Feathers, 14.Matt Cosner, 15.Gary Stuhler, 16.Lindsay Barton, 17.Tony Crim, 18.Wayne Johnson, 19.Steve Gibney, 20.Keith Walls, 21.John McLanigan, 22.Brad Omps, 23.D.J.Myers, 24.Matt Sponaugle, 25.John Baker, 26.Tanner Kerr


Malloy Ford of Winchester, VA Late Model Sportsman, Spring Championship, 25 Laps: 1.Rick Singleton, 2.Terry Flaherty, 3.Frankie Plessinger, 4.Scott Palmer, 5.Kyle Lear, 6.Paul Cursey, 7.Jonathan De Haven Jr., 8.Bobby Beard. 9.Cody Lear, 10.Dominic Defino, 11.James Lichliter, 12.Justin Weaver, 13.Kyle Lee, 14.Tyler Horst, 15.Chaz Walls, 16.Ronnie Dennis, 17.Donnie Farlling, 18.Rodney Walls, 19.Chad Myers, 20.Jeff King, 21.Kris Eaton, 22.Andy Fries, 23.Scott Cline, 24.Bryan Wright, 25.James Richards, 26.Crhis Fletcher, 27.Billy Farmer, 28.Mike Walls, DNQ-Kevin Deremer, Garrett Walls, Pat McNeal, Eric Irwin, Steve Lowery, Brian Lessley, Tayler Farlling, Dave Friedrich, Mitch Miller, Ray Ciccarelli, Elwood Sord, Michelle Walls, Brian Cornett, Scott Cline


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Craig Parrill, 2.Mike Franklin, 3.Mike Corbin, 4.Tony Catlett, 5.Keith Koontz, 6.Chris Ebersole, 7.Bryan Miller, 8.Jimmy Combs, 9.Jamie Zentmyer, 10.Wayne Hawbaker, 11.Frank Dibella, 12.Johnny Oliver, 13.Nick Dibella, 14.John Martin, 15.Ben Marrow, 16.Jeremy Mills, 17. William Ecton Jr., 18.Danny Farlling, DNQ – Carl Biddle


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Jamie Mills, 2.Gary Proctor, 3. Dylan Welsh, 4.Brian Neff, 5. Williams Crook, 6.Dylan Rutherford, 7.Joe Rodgers, 8.James Jones, 9.Paul Armstrong, 10.Rodney Miner, 11.Tom Caravello, 12.Kenny Thomas, 13.Dustin Proctor, 14.Gary Cekovich,


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders, 15 Laps: 1.Ryan Laye, 2.Ethan Ours, 3.Ed Gageby, 4.Justin Hottle, 5.Kevin Thomas, 6.Bill Kessler, 7.Michael Warrenfeltz, 8.Tracey Linn, 9.Gary Newell, 10.Frankie Gordon, DNQ- Charlie Shearer


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results