Date: 5/25/2014 8:52:58 AM

For Immediate Release                               May 25, 2014


Next Event: Sunday. May 25 7:00 PM:  General Admission $10 - Malloy Ford $1000 to Win- LMS (show up points), PS, 4C, HS, Rookie Cars (Small Car National Rules) Veterans 1/2 Price






HAGERSTOWN, MD. – Following several showers that delayed Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol getting underway by close to two hours on Saturday evening, a five car invert put Gregg Satterlee on the outside pole for the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model feature and he made good of the starting position by leading all 35 laps to bank the $3,000 winning share after beating Marvin Winters to the finish by 2.47 seconds. It was his second victory of the season and second of the weekend, having won Friday night at Bedford. 

“We had a good car,” Satterlee, of Rochester Mills, Pa. said. “The track was in good shape like it always is. I had some luck with the redraw and invert and got to start on the front row. Starting spots are a huge thing here and we were able to get the lead on the start.  I caught lapped traffic in the middle of the race and my guy was telling me my lead was shrinking pretty quickly. The caution came out and I was able to have a clean race track and hold on for the win. When you catch them and they’re racing two wide, it’s hard to get by them quickly. The caution fell in our favor. “

Allen Brannon and Satterlee were on the front row for the Late Model start as Satterlee charged around the top and exited turn two with the lead over Brannon as third starting Winters got past Kenny Moreland on the second lap for third.

Satterlee caught the rear of the field by lap nine and continued to maneuver past several cars while Winters passed Brannon on the 14th lap and began to close on Satterlee who got occupied with two rear cars racing side by side. Winters was all but knocking on the door when the first caution came out on lap 20. One lap was made before the yellow was displayed again but following the green, Satterlee was off and running and continued stretching his lead until encountering another rear car on the final lap.

Winters trailed by 2.47 seconds while Moreland was holding on to the third spot. Jamie Lathroum entered the top five after starting 15th and finished fourth with C. S. Fitzgerald ended fifth. Jerry Bard came on strong following the final restart and ended sixth after starting 17th with Brannon, Friday’s winner Keith Jackson, Trever Feathers and Roy Deese Jr., from 14th, completing the top ten.  Jackson, Moreland and Winters were the heat winners.

By virtue of posting the Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman victory, Justin Weaver of nearby Williamsport locked in a guaranteed starting spot in Sunday’s Mallory $1,000 to win event.

Scott Palmer sat on the pole following a three car inversion and pulled into the lead over Terry Flaherty and Kyle Lear. Following a lap six restart, he was edging away from Flaherty while Weaver was coming from eighth and moved into second with Palmer just over two seconds ahead. Weaver was closing the gap until Palmer was caught up in an eight car incident that happened in turn one when he was approaching and he slid into the melee nearly blocking the track. 

Weaver took over for the restart and had to fend off Lear while Andy Fries moved into challenge him. Weaver pulled away in the final laps to beat Lear by a second at the line. 

Fries held to third over Dominic Defino and Kyle Lee who came from 12th. Flaherty, Palmer and Barry Lear Sr. won the heats with James Lichliter and Frankie Plessinger winning the consolations.

“I don’t know if I could have got to Scott but I was going to give him a shot on that restart and it was tough to see what happened to him down there,” Weaver said. “We took advantage of it. I hated to see it happen like that, but it is what it is.”

Starting fourth in the K Lynn Management Pure Stock feature invert, it was another dominating run for Mike Corbin who took over on the second lap when Tony Catlett blew an engine after leading the opening lap. Corbin was in control while Chris Ebersole moved into the runner up spot on the fourth lap, but Corbin continued on to take the win by 1.31 seconds. Darrin Younker came from 11th to claim third while Kenny Dillon and Rick Stouffer completed the top five. 

Kevin Thomas slid forward to start on the outside pole with Ryan Laye advancing to fourth as the pair pulled to the front of the Cochran Associates Four Cylinders over Gary Newell. Thomas held Laye one to two lengths behind until the seventh lap when Laye began his assault, diving under Thomas in both ends of the track for the final four laps but Laye had to settle for the runner up spot as Thomas, of St. Thomas , PA held him off by two lengths. 

Matt Wallace took the lead from Roland Brown on the 12th lap of the Classic Car Series event. He went on to beat Brown by three lengths with Steve Clemo and Neal Reamer in the next positions. 

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.





Hagerstown/Roaring Knob Challenge; Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models, 25 Laps: 1.Gregg Satterlee, 2.MarvinWinters, 3.Kenny Moreland, 4.Jamie Lathroum, 5.C.S. Fitzgerald, 6.Jerry Bard, 7.Allen Brannon, 8.Keith Jackson, 9.Trevor Feathers, 10.Roy Deese Jr., 11.Steve Axtell Jr., 12.Ronnie DeHaven Jr., 13.Gene Knaub, 14.Bryan Bernheisel, 15.D.J. Myers, 16.Vic Coffee, 17.Brian Tavenner, 18. Jeff Rine, 19.Matt Cosner, 20.Jacob Burdett, 21.KeithWalls, 22.Jim Bernheisel, 23.Gary Stuhler, 24.Wayne Johnson, 25.Andy Anderson


Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Justin Weaver, 2. Kyle Lear, 3.Andy Fries, 4.Dominic Defino, 5.Kyle Lee, 6.Chad Myers, 7.Paul Cursey, 8.Terry Flaherty, 9.Bobby Beard, 10.Frankie Plessinger, 11.James Lichliter, 12.Barry Lear Sr., 13.Jeff King, 14.Tyler Horst, 15.Chaz Walls, 16.Eric Irvin, 17.Kris Eaton, 18.Billy Farmer, 19.Donnie Farlling, 20.Brian Cornett, 21.Scott Palmer, 22.Ray Ciccarelli, 23.Mike Walls, 24.Andy Yoder, 25.Steve Lowery, 26.Scott Cline, 27.Will Rowe, 28.Rick Singleton, DNQ-Shaun Patterson, Travis Calhoun, Taylor Farlling, Elwood Sord, Rodney Walls, Garrett Walls, Larry Neiderer, Rick Hulson


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 12 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.Chris Ebersole, 3.Darrin Younker, 4.Kenny Dillon, 5.Rick Stouffer, 6.Wayne Hawbaker, 7.Drew Fitzsimmons, 8.Frank Dibella, 9.Nick Dibella, 10.Kenny Day, 11.Ben Morrow, 12.Jeremy Mills, 13.Thomas Martin, 14.Brian Miller, 15.Danny Farlling, 16.Tony Catlett, 17.Jamie Zentmyer


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders, 10 Laps: 1.Kevin Thomas, 2.Ryan Laye, 3.Gary Newell, 4.Matt Williamson, 5.William Kressler, 6.Gary Dehart, 7. Bryan Neff. DNS-Adam Lyman



Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results