Date: 5/26/2014 10:38:39 AM

For Immediate Release                                 May 26, 2014



HAGERSTOWN, MD. – Running second in the Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman’s Saturday feature on night two of Memorial Day weekend events at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol LLC, Kyle Lear did it one better Sunday on night three. He led all the way from the outside pole to pocket the Mallory Ford $1.000 in the 25-lap event, his second win of the season. With a six car inversion, Lear began from the outside pole and later beat Allen Brannon by 1.278 seconds.

“Track position was everything for us tonight,” Lear, of Severna Park, Md. said. “We thought we were going to have our work cut out for us tonight and luckily we hit the set up in our heat so, we’ve been good all weekend, I mean, last night to run second to Justin Weaver; he was really good and tonight capped off a good weekend.”

Lear pulled to the front as Jonathan DeHaven and Weaver gave chase. DeHaven put up a good fight while holding off Weaver as Lear drove off to a more than four second lead and got to the rear of the field by the 14th lap. Frankie Plessinger closed on the pair battling for second as Lear had two rear cars behind him when the caution was displayed for the first time on lap 16.

On the restart, Plessinger charged around the outside and into second to go by the flagstand side by side with Lear on the 18th circuit, but suddenly the challenge was over as smoke rolled from Plessinger’s racer and he stopped in turn four.

In fourth, Brannon grabbed second on the ensuing restart as Weaver finally cleared DeHaven on the 20th circuit and gave chase but suddenly, he began slowing in the last two laps after hitting a piece of lead in turn two that came from someone’s racer and flattened his left rear tire.

Lear went to the finish by 1.278 seconds over Brannon with eighth starter Kyle Lee getting third over 12th starting Scott Palmer and DeHaven. Bobby Beard came from 19th to claim sixth with Chad Myers (13th), Weaver  (limping to the finish), Andy Fries (20th) and Jeff King. Brannon, Cody Lear and Weaver won the heats while Beard was the consolation winner. 

Mike Franklin got the jump on five time winner Mike Corbin in the K Lynn Management Pure Stock feature as the two pulled out to a nearly five second lead over Mike Desch until a lap seven caution. Corbin took over on lap nine while tenth starting Michelle Walls passed Desch and Jimmy Combs for third before a lap 13 yellow. Corbin, of Winchester, took the green while Walls charged around Franklin into second on the white flag lap and closed to 1.211 seconds of Corbin at the checkered. Franklin, Combs and Desch completed the top five.

Two time winner Jamie Mills of Big Pool Md. took the early lead over Gary Proctor in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stock while Bryan Neff moved into third and the three battled for the number one position.

Proctor took over on the eighth lap and appeared headed for his third win until smoke billowed from his car on the front stretch of lap 12.Mills took over for the restart and held off Neff by less than a half-length to get the win. Kenny Thomas, Joe Rodgers and Dylan Welsh were next.   

Ryan Laye of Ft. Loudon, Pa turned the tables from Saturday night when he had to settle for second to Kevin Thomas. Thomas led from the fourth position but Laye quickly moved from third to Thomas’ bumper on the opening lap. Laye went both high and low in both corners before wrestling the lead away on lap nine as he continued on to a 2.213second win over Thomas with Matt Williamson, Gary Newell and Mike Warrenfeltz next.

Race car builder Roy Anderson of Winchester got his first ever win at Hagerstown in 1974 and he piloted a DeHaven Trailer Sales Rookie car to victory after passing Brenda Alexander on the second lap and building a more than straightaway victory over Rusty Garlock and Alexander. 

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.





Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman, 25 Laps: 1.Kyle Lear, 2.Allen Brannon, 3.Kyle Lee, 4.Scott Palmer, 5.Jonathan DeHaven, 6.Bobby Beard, 7.Chad Myers, 8.Justin Weaver, 9.Andy Fries, 10.Jeff King, 11.Chris Fletcher, 12.James Lichliter, 13.Cody Lear, 14.Paul Cursey, 15.Mike Walls, 16.Garrett Walls, 17.Ray Ciccarelli, 18.Terry Flaherty, 19.Keith Walls, 20.Scott Cline, 21.Frankie Plessinger, 22.Shaun Jones, 23.Dominic Defino, 24.Les Hare, DNQ- Billy Farmer, Donnie Farlling, Elwood Sord, Brian Cornett, Taylor Farlling, James Richards   


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.Michelle Walls, 3.Mike Franklin, 4.Jimmy Combs, 5.Mike Desch, 6.Jamie Zentmyer, 7.Sean Dawson, 8.Nick Dibella, 9.Frank Dibella, 10. Kenny Dillon, 11.Wayne Hawbaker, 12.Ben Morrow, 13.Jason Leibowitz, 14.Tim Drawbaugh, 15.Josh Wilkins


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15  Laps: 1.Jamie Mills, 2.Bryan Neff, 3.Kenny Thomas, 4.Joe Rodgers, 5.Dylan Welsh, 6.William Crook, 7.John Catlett, 8.Ralph Hansberger, 9.Rodney Minor, 10.Charles Stambaugh, 11.Gary Proctor


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders, 15 Laps: 1.Ryan Laye, 2.Kevin Thomas, 3.Matt Williamson, 4.Gary Newell, 5.Michael Warrenfeltz, 6.William Kressler, 7.Chris Anderson, 8.Frankie Gordon, 9.Ethan Ours


DeHaven Trailer Sales Rookie Cars, 12 Laps: 1.Roy Anderson, 2.Rusty Garlock, 3.Brenda Alexander, 4.Heath Leonard, 5.Haley Kaiser


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results