Date: 7/13/2014 2:20:36 AM

For Immediate Release                               July 13, 2014





Friday, Saturday, Sunday: July 18 (8:00 p.m.), 19 (8:00 p.m.), 20  (2:00 p.m.)– Monster Truck Jam,


Saturday, July 19, Hagerstown /Roaring Knob Challenge, Late Models at Roaring Knob


Saturday, July 26 (7:00 p.m.) 33rd Annual Hays/Jones Conococheague – 88 Laps, 44 Laps Late Model, 22 Laps Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stocks 20 laps, (Double Points all classes)


Saturday, August 2 (7:00 p.m.) Late Model, Late Model Sportsman (No Points), Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, Four Cylinders





Mike Walls Posts First Ever Late Model Sportsman Triumph



HAGERSTOWN, MD. – If it wasn’t hot enough outside, Marvin Winters was really working up a sweat on Christmas in July night at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol as he battled Roy Deese Jr. for the $3,000 Late Model win. Going inside to pass a lapped car on the front stretch, Deese’s attempt around the outside ended with a hard crash into the first turn fence. Winters continued the final 11 laps to post the win over Jason Covert by 1.38 seconds.

“That lapped traffic was a little touchy and it looks like it got Roy, that’s a shame,” Winters said. “But we had a good race going on. I think he was getting a little bit loose or mine was starting to come on. It was going to be a good race. I didn’t see him. I went below the lapped car and the next time I came around and the red was out. I didn’t see it happen.”

In other racing and after 16 years, third generation driver Mike Walls fought back emotions following his career first win in the Late Model Sportsman feature. It was another day in the office for Mike Corbin who posted his ninth win in the Pure Stock event while Matt Williamson finally wrapped up his first win in the Four Cylinder feature. Defending Classic Racing Series champion Matt Wallace scored his Hagerstown second of the season with the Bill Bollinger Memorial event. 

With a heads up start, Brian Bernheisel led the opening lap with Roy Deese Jr. charging past off the fourth turn to lead the second circuit. Winters, C. S. Fitzgerald, Kyle Hardy and Jason Covert each passed Bernheisel in the next several laps with Winters closing in for the battle with Deese while Fitzgerald was feeling the pressure from Hardy and Covert was another several lengths back.   

Clearing Scott Richwine on the 12th lap, Wayne Johnson was next in line as Winters led the 16th lap with Deese battling back. The two were putting on a show while On the 19th lap, Winters went to the inside of Johnson entering the first turn while Deese went to the outside and contact was made sending him hard into the fence which brought out the red flag.

On the restart, Covert bolted into the runner up spot while Hardy got past Fitzgerald on the 21st lap. Winters continued to hold a several length lead and went on to take the triumph by 1.320 seconds over Covert and Hardy. Fitzgerald and Jamie Lathroum were next. B. Bernheisel, Deese and Fitzgerald were the heat winners.

“I have to thank Tex Shaffer,” Winters said. “He’s a great car owner. He lets me do whatever we need to the car; no questions asked. That’s the kind of owner you need.”

In a three car invert for the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman feature, it was Chaz Walls on the pole and Mike Walls (No relation) on the outside as they ran side by side the first lap with M. Walls pulling ahead off the fourth turn. Following the only yellow flag on lap six, M. Walls led while Chad  Myers, two time winner and running third, pulled pit side with mechanical issues.

C. Walls, then came under attack by Robbie Black who took over the third position on the 11th lap but M. Walls was more than two seconds ahead. Black kept cutting into the lead but still trailed Walls by 1.426 seconds at the checkered. It was Walls’ first ever win and came after 16 long years.  Myers, M.Walls and C.Walls won the heats.

Chaz Walls was involved in an accident east of Waynesboro on the way to the track when a car caused the incident which demolished his truck. Brother Mike Walls came to the rescue and towed Chaz ‘enclosed trailer on to the speedway.  

Starting on the outside pole with a two car invert in the K Lynn Management Pure Stock feature, Mike Corbin dashed into the front and should have had a rear view mirror to watch the race for second. At the finish, Corbin had a two length lead for his ninth win as David Kaiser held off ninth starter Jasen Geesaman for the runner up spot. Corbin Geesaman and Dave Stouffer were the heat winners.

Mike Potts led the opening lap of the Four Cylinder feature from the outside pole but Matt Williamson charged from fifth to overtake him on lap two. Williamson pulled out to a comfortable lead and wasn’t challenged while Michael Warrenfeltz took over the second spot on lap fifth lap but trailed by more than four seconds at the checkered.

Sitting on the pole, Matt Wallace took the lead from the onset over Steve Cantwell in the Bollinger Memorial event.  Wallace set the pace and pulled further ahead with each lap until taking the checkered by more than five seconds over Cantwell who was followed by Neal Reamer, Steve Clemo and Joe Brown .

“I won this race last year,” Wallace said. “It’s a special race to win.”

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.





Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models, 30 Laps: 1.Marvin Winters, 2.Jason Covert, 3.Kyle Hardy, 4.C.S. Fitzgerald, 5.James Lathroum, 6.Steve Axtell Jr., 7.Frankie  Plessinger, 8.Jim Bernheisel, 9.Ronnie DeHaven Jr., 10.Bryan Bernheisel, 11.Wayne Johnson, 12.Scott Richwine, 13. Trever Feathers, 14.Roy Deese Jr., 15.Jason Miller, 16.Tyler Castle, 17.Brian Tavenner, DNS – Tim Murphy


Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1Mike Walls, 2.Robbie Black, 3.Chaz Walls, 4.Dominic Defino, 5.Bobby Beard, 6.Rick Hulson, 7.Charlie Schaffer, 8.Kyle Lee, 9.Justin Weaver, 10.Tyler Armstrong, 11.Kris Eaton, 12.Keith Walls, 13.Rodney Walls, 14.Donnie Farlling, 15.Jimmy Jesmer Jr., 16.John McLanigan, 17.Scott Cline, 18.Eddie Cornett, 19.Darrell Dow, 20.Dave Friedrich, 21. Elwood Sord, 22. Chad Myers, DNS-Matt Murphy.


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.David Kaiser, 3.Jasen Geesaman, 4.Chris Derr, 5.Tony Stoneberger, 6.Wayne Hawbaker, 7.Brian Luttrell, 8.Jamie Zentmyer, 9.Dickie Tharp, 10.Danny Farlling, 11.Brandon Churchey, 12.Frank Dibella, 13.Jimmy Combs, 14.Nick Dibella, 15.Kenny Day, 16.Ben Morrow, 17.Brian Miller, 18.Rick Stouffer, 19.Josh Wilkins, 20.Jeremy Mills


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders, 10 Laps: 1Matt Williamson, 2.Michael Warrenfeltz, 3.Mike Potts, 4.Ryan Laye, 5.Williams Kressler, 6. Barry Miller, 7.Jason Stoner  .


Classic Racing Series, Bill Bollinger Memorial, 20 Laps:  1.Matt Wallace, 2.Steve Cantwell, 3.Neal Reamer, 4.Steve Clemo, 5.Joe Brown

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results