Date: 8/3/2014 1:41:36 AM

For Immediate Release                                   August 3, 2014





Wednesday, August 6 (7:00 p.m.) Test & Tune, Any cars from any Track, 7 p.m.-9:30 p.m.


Saturday, August 9 (7:00 p.m.) Ernie D’s Auction Enterprise Inc. $2,500 to Win Topless Late Model (Double Points), Pure Stock, Hobby Stocks, Four Cylinders, Manitowoc Employee Night + Kids Candy Night


Wednesday, August 13 (7:00 p.m.) Test & Tune, Any cars from any Track, 7 p.m.-9:30 p.m.


Saturday, August 16 (7:00 p.m.) BACK TO SCHOOL Small Fry Night, 1st Annual K. Lynn Management 20 Lap Pure Stock (Double Points), + Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Four Cylinder Championship Race & Hobby Stocks 





Scott Palmer Grabs $1,000 for Late Model Sportsman Victory


HAGERSTOWN, MD:  Trever Feathers put his Dad’s Late Model to the test Saturday evening at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol and it passed with flying colors. Having won a Late Model Sportsman feature in 2011, Feathers, of Winchester posted his first ever Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model feature triumph after starting third and led all the way to collect the win by 3.03 seconds over Roy Deese Jr.

“It means a lot to win here again,” Feathers said. “I won here in 2011, so three years is too long.  The car was just amazing. I wish my car drove like that.”

In other racing, Greencastle’s Scott Palmer led the opening two laps, then retook the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman lead from Chad Myers on the fifth lap and held him off by five lengths to secure the $1,000 win.

Mike Corbin’s K. Lynn Management Pure Stock tenth win came by one length over Darrin Younker who had the upper had the precious week. Kenny Thomas took his Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stock to a more than five second victory while Ft. Loudon’s Ryan Laye was back in victory lane for his ninth Cochran Associates Four Cylinder victory.

It was a three car invert for the Late Models as Deese and Brian Tavenner occupied the front row and Deese powered in front of the field, but Feathers was power in motion and charged under Deese to lead the second lap.

By the halfway mark, Feathers was into lapped traffic while Deese was in a battle with previous week’s winner Kyle Hardy, points leader Marvin Winters and Tavenner. Following a lap 15 restart, Feathers maintained control while Deese was occupied by Winters looking to take the runner up spot and busy holding off Steve Axtell Jr. Feathers drove on unchallenged to the checkered with a 3.03 second advantage over Deese. Only three tenths of a second separated Deese from Winters and Axtell. Hardy ended fifth.  

Feathers and Winters were the heat winners.

“I think I had a lot more left in it if I moved up a little bit,” Feathers said. “I was just trying to keep my tires cooled down in the mud. I’m dedicating this win to Tony; he’s the one that got hit last week. He’s been through a lot this week and I went to see him Sunday and he was ready to go racing. To have people dedicated like him, it means a lot.”

Scott Palmer and Chad Myers were on the front row and Myers made it three wide on a second lap restart with Palmer and last week’s winner Kyle Lear to take over. Two laps later, Myers took the inside line for the double file restart and Palmer graciously retook the position and didn’t falter as the laps ticked away. While Justin Weaver was challenging Lear for third, Myers was able to make a challenge on the 18th lap but Palmer scooted away by five lengths to capture the extra money race.

“I think a lot tonight was whoever got to the front first was going to win that race,” Palmer said. “The 21 (Myers) gave me the outside, which he had passed me on top. I was surprised he gave me that on the last restart. If he had got in front of me, I don’t think I’d ever have passed him. Billy at MBH built this car over the winter. This is the best car I’ve ever had. It’s been good right out of the box.”

Trailing Myers was Lear and Weaver from eighth while Andy Fries completed the top five. Palmer, Myers and Friese were the heat winners.

Dickie Tharp quickly grabbed the pure stock lead from the pole while Mike Corbin was headed to the front from seventh and last week’s winner Darrin Younker was following. Tharp slid high in the turn two on the eighth lap as Corbin and Younker both took advantage of the miscue. Younker pulled alongside and in front of Corbin several times, but  Corbin used momentum off turn four to regain the lead each time and charged to a one length win over Younker, his season tenth. Tharp, tenth starting Chris Ebersole and Nick Dibella were next. Dibella and Corbin were the heat winners.  

With a two car invert, Greencastle’s Kenny Thomas took control of the hobby stocks but six time winner and point leader Gary Proctor spun in the second turn and was broadsided by Joe Rodgers. On the restart, Thomas again took over and went all the way over Rodgers while Dylan Welsh and Bryan Neff waged a battle for third for the final half of the race. Thomas went on his to claim his fourth season win by more than five seconds. Jason Sarver and Thomas were the heat winners.

Ryan Laye, Ft. Loudon, took off from the outside pole with Bill Kressler in pursuit. Laye continued to stretch his lead with every lap while Matt Williamson moved past Kressler at the halfway mark, but trailed by 3.760 seconds at the checkered. It was the ninth win of the season for Laye.

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models, 25 Laps: 1trever Feathers, 2.Roy Deese Jr., 3.Marvin Winters, 4.Steve Axtell, Jr., 5.Kyle Hardy, 6.C.S. Fitzgerald, 7.Justin Kann, 8.Brian Tavenner, 9.Tenner Kerr, 10.Jeff Miller, 11.Randy Burkholder, 12.Amanda Whaley, 13.Pancho, Lawler, 14.Travis Wilson, 15.Keith Walls, 16.Mike Altobelli Jr., 17.Andy Anderson, DNS- Austin Berry 


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Scott Palmer, 2.Chad Myers, 3.Kyle Lear, 4.Justin Weaver, 5.Andy Fries, 6.Rodney Walls, 7.Mike Walls, 8.Paul Cursey, 9.Kyle Lee, 10.Charlie Schaffer, 11.Robbie Black, 12.Kris Eaton, 13.Ronnie Dennis, 14.Jimmy Jesmer Jr., 15.Donnie Farlling, 16.James Lichliter, 17.Will Rowe, 18.Steve Lowery, 19.Eddie Cornett, 20.Taylor Farlling, 21.Mate Eckman, 22.Scott Cline, 23.Dave Friedrich, 24.Michael Blazer, 25.Braden Anderson, 26.Garrett Walls, 27.Richard Walls, 28.Chaz Walls, 29.Barry Lear Sr.


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.Darrin Younker, 3.Dickie Tharp, 4.Chris Ebersole, 5.Nick Dibella,.6.Wayne Hawbaker, 7.Frank Dibella, 8.Kenny Day, 9.Mike Sanders, 10.Brian Swiger, 11.J.C. Butts, 12.Jamie Zentmyer, 13.Danny Farlling, 14.Ben Morrow


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Kenny Thomas, 2.Joe Rodgers, 3.Dylan Welsh, 4.Bryan Neff, 5.Jamie Mills, 6.Tom Caravello, 7.Ralph Hansberger, 8.John Catlett, 9.John Catlett, 10.Gary Proctor, 11.Jason Sarver, DNS – Dwayne Snyder


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders: 10 Laps:1.Ryan Laye, 2.Matt Williamson, 3.Bill Kressler, 4.Michael Warrenfeltz, 5.Connor Williamson, 6.Barry Miller, 7.Frankie Gordon

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results