Date: 8/10/2014 3:13:39 AM

For Immediate Release                                   August 10, 2014





Saturday, August 16 (7:00 p.m.) BACK TO SCHOOL Small Fry Night, 1st Annual K. Lynn Management 20 Lap Pure Stock (Double Points), + Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Four Cylinder Championship Race & Hobby Stocks 


Saturday, August 23 (7:00 p.m.) J.G. Cochran Auctioneers Night: Small Car Nationals Qualifier (Hagerstown Rules), Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, Four Cylinders Plus Late Models 




It’s Kyle Lear for a Fourth Time in the Late Model Sportsman


HAGERSTOWN, MD: Just two weeks after Kyle Hardy scored his first ever Late Model triumph in the Hays Memorial/ Conococheague event at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol, the second generation racer from Stephens City, Va. was back in victory lane, this time with a dominating win in the $2,500 Ernie D’s Auction Enterprises Topless event after getting around Tanner Kerr on a ninth lap restart. Hardy was long gone by the time Marvin Winters got past Kerr and saw the checkered 5.740 seconds ahead of him.  

This car is awesome, “Hardy said. “ I’d like to thank everyone that works on this car because if it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be here; my mom and dad and everyone else.”

Other feature winners included Severna Park, Md’s Kyle Lear who held off a challenging Paul Cursey for his fourth triumph in the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman. Darrin Younker, Berkley Springs, WV held off Chris Ebersole by a mere .031 second in the K. Lynn Management Pure Stock feature, his third of the season .Gary Proctor recorded his seventh win in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stock while Ft. Loudon’s Ryan Laye was back in victory lane after also scoring a tenth win in the Cochran Associates Four Cylinders..

It was a four car invert for the Late Models as Tanner Kerr charged from the pole over C.S. Fitzgerald while Hardy overtook him for second on the second lap and Winters took third on the sixth lap.

Kerr and Hardy raced out front with Hardy pressuring Kerr for the top spot until Fitzgerald slowed on the ninth lap. Kerr chose the inside line for the restart while Hardy overpowered him off the second turn and began to leave Kerr in the wind while Winters was looking at taking the runner up spot.  

Behind Winters, previous week’s winner

Winters finally got under Kerr for second on the 22nd lap but Hardy was six seconds ahead and streaking towards the checkered which he took 5.740 seconds ahead while Winters had opened more than three and one half second lead over Kerr. Trever Feathers held off his father Bo as they completed the top five. Winters and Hardy were the heat winners. .

“I knew I had to get a good run around the top on that restart because if not, he (Kerr) was going to be hard to pass because he had a good car,” Hardy said. “We got in there a little better and that’s how it is. We had a good car.”

Bobby Beard and Kyle Lear sat on the front row in the two car invert with Lear getting off the outside of turn two with the lead with Paul Cursey taking over the second spot following a third lap restart when it was a three wide battle for second and Justin Weaver got shuffled back to tenth. Following a seventh lap restart, Lear had Cursey keeping him under check as the green flag laps ticked away. Lear drove on to post his fourth win by .963 seconds over Cursey with Chad Myers, Bruce Kane, and Weaver rebounding to finish fifth.  Lear, Beard and Cursey were the heat winners.

Fourth starting Darrin Younker got past Tony Stoneberger on the second lap as ten time winner Mike Corbin moved into second following a third lap restart. Corbin kept the pressure on but Chris Ebersole began challenging for the spot but Corbin used the outside to keep his momentum. Ebersole was persistent until getting past with three to go and took a stab at getting under Younker. The pair raced from the final turn with Younker only holding a .031 second advantage while Corbin was third over David Kaiser and Brian Luttrell. Younker and Corbin were the heat winners. 

“I didn’t know where to be,” Younker said. “Chris was back there working real good. I didn‘t know it until I saw that number fly up beside me on the back straightaway. It was close.”

With a two car invert for the Hobby Stocks, Brian Neff and Big Pool, Md’s Gary Proctor pulled off the front row with Neff in front but Proctor went past to lead the second lap.

Neff kept the pressure on until half way when Michael Hyatt moved into second. Proctor kept going while Hyatt had Neff and Kenny Thomas challenging as Proctor took the win by ten lengths over Hyatt, Neff, Thomas and Joe Rodgers. 

Ryan Laye, Ft. Loudon, took off from seventh in the Four Cylinders feature  while Jason Stoner led the opening three laps until Matt Williamson went by on a third lap restart. By that time, Laye was to the front and drove under Williamson to lead the fifth lap while Williamson stayed close and trailed by four lengths at the finish as Laye picked up his tenth win of the season.

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Ernie D’s Auction Enterprises: Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Topless Late Models, 25 Laps: 1.Kyle Hardy, 2.Marvin Winters, 3.Tanner Kerr, 4.Trever Feathers, 5.Bo Feathers, 6.BrianTavenner, 7.Frankie Plessinger, 8.Kenny Moreland, 9.RoyDeese Jr., 10.Steve Axtell Jr., 11.Jason Miller, 12.Randy Burkholder, 13.Pancho Lawler, 14.Derrick Casner, 15.Wayne Johnson, 16.C.S. Fitzgerald, 17.Chris Casner, 18. Andy Anderson, 19.Rick Hulson


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Kyle Lear, 2. Paul Cursey, 3.Chad Myers, 4.Bruce Kane, 5.Justin Weaver, 6.Bobby Beard, 7.Terry Flaherty, 8.Kyle Lear, 9.Kyle Lee, 10.Kris Eaton, 11.Mike Walls, 12.Chaz Walls, 13.Barry Lear Sr., 14. Ronnie Dennis, 15.Steve Lowery, 16.Taylor Farlling, 17.Scott Cline, 18.Larry Neiderer, 19.Joe Westerman Jr., 20.Brayden Anderson, 21. Jeff King 


K. Lynn Management LLC Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Darrin Younker, 2.Chris Ebersole, 3.Mike Corbin, 4.David Kaiser, 5.Brian Luttrell, 6.Wayne Hawbaker, 7.Tony Stoneberger, 8.Jamie Zentmyer, 9.Danny Farlling, 10.Dickei Tharp, 11.Frank Dibella, 12.Nick Dibella, 13.Davey Gross Jr., 14.Mike Sanders, 15.Brandon Churchey, 16.Marshall McMullen


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Michael Hyatt, 3.Bryan Neff, 4.Kenny Thomas, 5.Joe Rodgers, 6.Jason Sarver, 7.Jamie Mills, 8.Ralph Hansberger, 9.John Catlett, 10.Dwayne Snyder, 11.William Crook, 12.Nathaniel Younker, 13.James Mongan Jr., 14.Jeff Dillon, 15.Tom Caravello, 16.Dylan Welsh


Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders: 10 Laps: 1.Ryan Laye, 2.Matt Williamson, 3.Jason Stoner, 4.Michael Warrenfeltz, 5.William Kressler, 6.Gary Newell, 7.Tim Williamson, 8.Haley Kaiser, 9.Austin Stover, DNS-Mike Potts


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results