Date: 7/12/2015 6:44:19 AM

July 12, 2015                                      For Immediate Release





Friday-Sunday, July 17-19 – Monster Truck Jam


Saturday, July 25 (7:00 p.m.) 34th Annual Hayes Conococheague – Topless Late Models 44 Laps, $4,000 to win (Double Points) , Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, All American Outlaws, Kids Poster Night  


Saturday, August 1 (7:00 p.m.) Rental Unlimited Late Models, Late Models, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks





 Palmer, Ebersole and Proctor win Summer Championships, Pobletts emotional following PeeWee Pobletts Memorial triumph



HAGERSTOWN, MD – As a youngster, Marvin Winters remembered the #25 with an orange ball on the roof driven by Red Nininger. Saturday evening, Winters, of McConnellsburg, PA dominated the Late Model field and led every lap to win the 8th Annual Red Nininger Memorial which was paced by a replica of the 1965 Chevy Chevelle driven by Nininger from 1970 to 1974.  He picked up $2,500 plus $625 in lap money for leading every lap of the 25-lap event.

“When I was a little kid, I liked that #25 with the orange ball on the roof; that was so cool,” Winters said. “It’s just an honor to win this race for the Nininger family, it’s great. Gerry had the car tuned up tonight, it really worked. I’ve got to thank owner. Tex Shaffer; he gives us s good ride. Any time you win a race at Hagerstown, it’s really cool.”

 Winters rolled around the top from the outside pole to assume the lead over Tom Decker Jr. who began receiving pressure from Allen Brannon.

Winters was more than five seconds ahead when Brannon took over second on the 12th lap but that lead vanished when the caution came out on the 14th lap and moved Brannon, Keith Jackson and Mark Pettyjohn into challenging positions. 

Winters held off Brannon following a 16th lap restart while Pettyjohn was quick about getting past Brannon the next lap but Winters powered on to capture the prestigious triumph by 1.655 seconds. Brannon, Jackson and Kyle Hardy completed the top five. C.S. Fitzgerald was sixth after starting 12th followed by Jerry Bard, Brian Tavenner, Decker and Roy Deese Jr. Decker and Winters were the heat winners and received an extra $50.

“This is the 8th year for the Memorial and it’s been great every year,” Glenn Nininger said. “And then to see a guy like Marvin here in victory lane; he’s been around many a year with us so I’m glad to see him get it. It’s good, I’ve been racing myself ever since I was a little kid and I’ve watched Marvin run the, well whatever we called them back then up through the limiteds and he’s been a winner in every class.

Pacing the field for the feature were the B2 and #25.

“The B2 is from the late 50ies and Richard Bonebrake owned it and dad drove for him many a year,” Nininger said. “The 25 was a replica of what he drove from 1970 to 74. “He won three championships with it, here at Hagerstown, Lincoln and Winchester. It was a pretty dominant car.”

Robbie Black rolled the top to lead the Late Model Sportsman off the second turn while Justin Weaver was into second by the ninth lap. Following a 17th lap restart, Scott Palmer took Weaver’s position on the 19th lap and continued on to pass Black in the same lap and lead the final six laps. He won for the seventh time this season by .66 second over Black with Weaver, Ralph Morgan Jr. and Charlie Schaffer next.

“This is one of the more emotional wins I’ve had,” Palmer said. ” My car last week was destroyed. That car is in the graveyard now. I called Brad (Omps) and he had this 2012 roller and he really did good by me and sold it to me. We got it together this week with the help of so many guys. There were a lot of guys from other crews that I race against that said they would help. I had so many people call. I don’t know about the race. I did whatever I felt like. I was just going for it. I’m so happy right now; I can’t believe that just happened.”

 Jamie Zentmyer took the Pure Stock lead over Craig Parrill with Chris Ebersole taking the runner up spot on lap seven and then begin a side by side effort until finally overtaking Zentmyer on the 15th lap.

Zentmyer kept the pressure on but Ebersole of Needmore, PA went on to claim his season second victory by two lengths while Parrill, Mike Corbin and Brian Miller completed the top five. 

“These wins don’t come easy here, that’s for sure,” Ebersole said. “Jamie’s tough this year. He doesn’t make many mistakes.”

Gary Proctor took off leading the Hobby Stocks over Jamie Mills with Kenny Thomas and Marshall McMullen battling for the next positions and closing on the leaders.

With some tight racing in the final five laps, Proctor of Big Pool, MD held off Mills by two lengths with McMullen, Thomas and Ralph Hansberger completing the top five.

Glenn Pobletts, Essex, MD, led the Penn Mar Vintage Club from the pole in the 2nd Annual PeeWee Pobletts Memorial and began distancing himself from Mark Rickrode Jr. while Randy Minich moved into second for two laps until seventh starter Rick Paster took the position and later trailed by more than eight seconds at the finish.

“I went down the backstretch crying,” Pobletts said. “Dad raced in the 50ies and 60ies. He loved this race track, liked the hard race track and especially when you ran on Sundays. If I was to win anything, I wanted to win tonight.”

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Topless Late Models Red Nininger Memorial, 25 Laps: 1.Marvin Winters, 2.Mark Pettyjohn, 3.Allen Brannon, 4.Keith Jackson, 5.Kyle Hardy, 6. C.S. Fitzgerald, 7.Jerry Bard, 8.Brian Tavenner, 9. Tom Decker Jr., 10.Roy Deese Jr., 11.Steve Axtell Jr., 12.Andy Anderson, 13.Tyler Hershey, 14.Trever Feathers, 15.Wayne Johnson, 16.Glenn Elliott, 17.Barry Miller, 18.D.J. Myers, 19.Brad Omps, 20.Ronnie DeHaven Jr., 21. Rick Hulson


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman Summer Championship, 25 Laps: 1.Scott Palmer, 2.Robbie Black, 3.Justin Weaver, 4.Ralph Morgan Jr., 5.Charlie Schaffer, 6.Bobby Beard, 7.Wayne Dillman, 8.Chaz Walls, 9.Ryan Walls, 10.Matt Eckman, 11.Larry Neiderer, 12.Cody Kershner, 13.Cody Lear, 14.Garrett Walls, 15.Bailey Johnson, 16.Elwood Sord, 17.Rodney Walls, 18.Keith Walls, 19.Eddie Cornett, 20.Jimmy Andrews Jr., DNS - Craig Smith, Jim Dawson


K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks Summer Championship, 20 Laps: 1.Chris Ebersole, 2.Jamie Zentmyer, 3.Craig Parrill, 4.Mike Corbin, 5.Brian Miller, 6.Michelle Walls, 7.Keith Koontz, 8.Drew Fitzsimmons, 9.Kevin Koontz, 10.Wayne Hawbaker, 11.Dickie Tharp, 12.Nick Dibella, 13.Frank Dibella, 14.Brian Swiger, 15.Jeremy Mills, 16. Thomas Walls Sr.


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, Hobby Stocks Summer Championship, 20 Laps: 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Jamie Mills, 3.Marshall McMullen, 4.KennyThomas, 5.Ralph Hansberger, 6.William Crook, 7.Dwayne Snyder, 8.Jason Sarver, 9.Jeff Dillon, 10.Tom Caravello, 11.Rodney Minor, 12.Ownen Baughman


Pen Mar Vintage Club

Vintage Cars, 2nd Annual PeeWee Pobletts Memorial, 12 Laps: 1.Glenn Pobletts, 2.Rick Paster, 3.Randy Minich, 4.Mark Rickrode Jr., 5.Scott Rickrode, 6.Johm Marks, 7.Stew Wenrich, 8.Fred Thompson, 9.Gary Pecker

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results