Date: 7/26/2015 9:19:22 AM

July 26, 2015                                      For Immediate Release





Saturday, August 1 (7:00 p.m.) Rental Unlimited - Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, + Sidewinder Sprints


Saturday, August 8 (7:00 p.m.) Ernie D’s Auction Topless Night, $2,500 to win Late Models (Double Points), Late Model Sportsman Topless $1,000 to win, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks and Classic Car Series + Kids Candy Night


Wednesday, August 12 (7:00 p.m.) Test & Tune, Any cars from any track 7 – 9 p.m., General Admission Free 





Weaver, Ebersole, Proctor and Hulson All Return to Victory Lane.



HAGERSTOWN, MD – Keith Jackson hasn’t been satisfied since debuting a new MBH in April but Saturday evening when he sped to his first win of the season, the 44-lap 34th Annual Hayes Conococheague at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol that rewarded him $4,400, he considered the teams efforts “really close”.

After setting quick time and leading all the way, Jackson had Andy Anderson to contend with most of the way while Anderson also had Brad Omps vying for the runner up spot until the closing laps. Just as Anderson pulled alongside on the final lap, Jackson got a breath of fresh air when the caution came out setting up a one lap shootout with Jackson taking the win by .519 seconds over Anderson.    

“I figured Andy was back there.” Jackson said. “I was just trying to keep it in the rubber. I figured we’d be all right and right when that caution came out, I saw him right underneath me. I said” Oh, my gosh, I didn’t know he was ‘right’ there.” But I’m glad the caution came out because it probably would have been a little bit interesting. I’m so happy. We’re getting closer with this car. We made a big, big step this weekend. I think we have some more work to go but this definitely brings my confidence back up.”

Jackson and Kyle Lear occupied the front row for the Conococheague start as Jackson headed to the front with C.S. Fitzgerald moving into second. Anderson disposed of him in two laps and began chasing Jackson as the front pair pulled away from Fitzgerald by five seconds by the tenth lap while he had Brad Omps to contend with. 

A lap 18 caution closed the field with Omps taking third a lap later while Trever Feathers moved into the top five. Omps closed on Jackson and Anderson as they ran a length apart until encountering lapped traffic with ten to go.

On the final lap, Anderson was ready to pounce on Jackson as he dove under and was exiting turn two with the lead just when the caution came out for a stopped car.

Jackson assumed command for the final lap and sped through the turns to exit turn four with a lead of only .519 second. Omps ended third with Fitzgerald holding fourth by inches over Feathers.  

With a two car inversion, Justin Weaver took off from the pole while third starting Cody Kershner grabbed second from Ryan Walls following an opening lap yellow. Scott Palmer advanced to fourth by the third lap while Weaver stretched his lead to more than four seconds by the halfway mark. Weaver worked rear traffic until giving up his four second lead for a 17th lap caution.

Weaver fended off Kershner’s challenge while Palmer moved into third and on the final lap, made contact with Kershner as the pair rounded the third and fourth turn locked together enough time that allowed Rodney Walls, Ryan Walls, Travis Stickley and Kyle Lee to complete the top five. 

“I think we’re back on track,” Weaver said. “I owe this one completely to Mark Smith with MS Shock Therapy. We talked a lot over the week and he did all the technical work.”

Craig Parrill pulled out front to lead the Pure Stocks over Keith Koontz with previous winner Chris Ebersole coming from seventh to move into second on the sixth lap. Following an eight lap restart, Ebersole passed Parrill and went on to claim his season third win by ten lengths over Parrill, Jamie Zentmyer, Darrin Younker, and Jason Geeseman.

Kenny Thomas headed into the first turns with the Hobby Stock lead while Gary Proctor was quickly closing from his ninth starting position and into second by completion of the opening lap. Proctor took the lead from Thomas on the fifth lap and following a lap 12 caution, held off Thomas by three lengths to score his third consecutive and sixth overall win of the season. Thomas, Marshall Mc Mullen, Michael Hyatt and Jamie Milles completed the top five 

Rick Hulson, winner of the June 13th event, took off from the pole in the All American Outlaw feature with Randy Doty taking second while 8th starting Kurt Zimmerman took third from Justin Cullum on the seventh lap and he closed on Doty before a caution on the 15th lap. Hulson held off the pair as Zimmerman took the runner up spot from Doty on the final lap as Bryan Green and Cullum completed the top five. 

It was Kids Poster Night as numerous children created posters of their favorite drivers. Additionally, both a girls and boys bikes were given away by Danny and Patti Wilson, Turn 5 Turn Around. 

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models 34th Annual Hayes Conococheague, 44 Laps: 1.Keith Jackson, 2.Andy Anderson, 3.Brad Omps, 4.C.S.Fitzgerald, 5.Trever Feathers, 6.Roy Deese, 7.Kyle Hardy, 8.Kenny Pettyjohn, 9.Dylan Yoder, 10.Marvin Winters, 11.Brian Tavenner, 12.Mark Pettyjohn, 13.D.J.Myers, 14.Bryan Bernheisel, 15.Barry Miller, 16.Jerry Bard, 17.Wayne Johnson, 18.Shaun Jones, 19.Gary Stuhler, 20.Kyle Lear, 21.Steve Axtell Jr., 22.Lindsay Barton, 23.Russell Erwin, 24.Bo Feathers


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Justin Weaver, 2.Rodney Walls, 3.Ryan Walls, 4.Travis Stickley, 5.Kyle Lee, 6.Scott Palmer, 7.Mike Walls, 8.Bobby Beard, 9.Charlie Schaffer, 10.Paul Cursey, 11.Sam Gallagher, 12.Eddie Cornett, 13.George Dixon Jr., 14.Chaz Walls, 15.Larry Neiderer, 16.Cody Kershner, 17.Brayden Anderson, 18.Elwood Sord, 19.Craig Smith, 20.Garrett Walls, 21.Jim Dawson, 22.Austin Berry


K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Chris Ebersole, 2.Craig Parrill, 3.Jamie Zentmyer, 4.Darrin Younker, 5.Jasen Geesaman, 6.Keith Koontz, 7.Nick Dibella, 8.Brandon Churchey, 9.Wayne Hawbaker, 10.Walter Lemmon, 11.Frank Dibella, 12.Drew Fitzsimmons, 13.Brian Swiger, 14.Michelle, 15.Mike Corbin, 16.Jeremy Mills, 17.Kevin Koontz, 18.Brian Miller


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Kenny Thomas, 3.Marshall McMullen, 4.Michael Hyatt, 5.Jamie Mills, 6.Ralph Hansberger, 7.Jason Sarver, 8.Dwayne Snyder, 9.William Crook, 10.Tom Caravello, 11.Dakota Foor, 12.Rodney Miner


All American Outlaws, 20 Laps: 1.Rick Hulson, 2.Kurt Zimmerman, 3.Randy Doty, 4.Bryan Green, 5.Justin Cullum, 6.Fred Cullum, 7.Jim Minter, 8.Hunter Nester, 9.Brad Alexander, 10.Danny Holmes, 11.David Egge, 12.Gary Moreland Jr., 13.Carnie Fryfogle, 14.Danny Gladhill, 15.Jim Chenoweth, 16.Jeff McCauley, 17.Tony Jorda



Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results