Date: 8/30/2015 11:01:29 PM

August 30, 2015                                             For Immediate Release





Saturday, September 5 (7:00 p.m.) Championship Night – Late Models $4,000 to win, Late Model Sportsman $800 to Win, Pure Stocks Hobby Stocks + Penn Mar Vintage Cars, Last Points Race )Double Points for all classes) Kids Autograph Night, Rain Date Sunday, September 6 


Saturday. September 12 (7:00 p.m.) Late Models, Mid Atlantic Modifieds, Others TBA



Kyle Lee posts a track first in Late Model Sportsman, Jamie Zentmyer runs to his Pure Stock fourth while Gary Proctor increases his Hobby Stock wins to ten


HAGERSTOWN, MD – Last season Roy Deese Jr. was a single time winner in June. He’s passed that date but hasn’t stopped trying. Saturday evening, Deese had everything go his way for the nine time and defending champion from Laurel, MD posting his first Late Model triumph of the season on Race for Cancer Night at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol. 


“The car was set up mathematically incorrect,” Deese said. ”We had a strong run in the heat and won it but this should not have worked but it did. All I want to do is come here, win and be competitive. Tonight I feel we made an improvement in the right direction.”  

Deese and Anderson occupied the front row for the feature as Anderson burst into the lead and led the first five circuits until Deese went by and led lap six but it ended up being short lived. Anderson rebounded to come back and take charge on lap seven.

Anderson continued to show the way but Deese wasn’t giving up as he again passed Anderson to lead the 13th. From there he continued to lead while Gary Stuhler was having a strong run from seventh. Stuhler finished .414 seconds behind with Anderson holding to third. Ninth starting Marvin Winters was next and Glenn Elliott completed the top five. 

Kyle Lee qualified to start on the pole and took off with Paul Cursey chasing him. Bobby Beard than moved into second and later Ryan Walls took over the runner up spot... Justin Weaver charged from ninth and took over second on the fifth lap but Lee wasn’t about to give up. He continued all the way to post the win over Weaver, Cursey, Wayne Dillman and Jimmy Jesmer Jr.

“I have to give special thanks to my fans, sponsors and family,” “Without their support, I wouldn’t be here. It’s a great feeling to be standing here.”

Jamie Zentmyer started sixth and finally got paste Keith Koontz on the ninth lap while Brian Miller and Mike Corbin were in hot pursuit. On the 13th lap, Corbin developed engine problems and pulled pitside while Zentmyer continued on to beat Miller for his fourth of the season. Brandon Churchey, Chris Ebersole, from 13th and Ronnie Garlock from North Carolina Lizard Lick Racing.  

Gary Proctor took charge of the Hobby Stock feature on the second lap and never looked back. He continued on to beat Marshall McMullen to the finish for his tenth win. Tom Caravello, Davey Gross Jr. and William Crook were next.

“This one is for everyone that has or is battling cancer,” Proctor said.” It’s a special win for me because we won on cancer night and this was for my Dad and Heather Proctor and everyone out there that's dealing with this or that has lost a loved one because of cancer.”

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Models, 25 Laps: 1.Roy Deese Jr. 2.Gary Stuhler, 3.Andy Anderson, 4.Marvin Winters, 5.Glenn Elliott, 6.Brad Omps, 7.Andrew Mullins, 8.Barry Miller, 9.Wayne Johnson, 10.Pancho Lawler, 11.Bo Feathers, 12.Trever Feathers, 13.Rick Hulson, 14.Tim Murphy


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Kyle Lee, 2..Justin Weaver, 3.Paul Cursey, 4.Wayne Dillman, 5.Jimmy Jesmer Jr., 6.Ryan Walls, 7.Scott Palmer, 8.Bobby Beard, 9.Rodney Walls, 10.Eddie Cornett, 11.Ray Ciccarelli, 12.Matt Murphy, 13.John Rowland, 14.Jason Nace, 15.Elwood Sord, 16.Brayden Anderson


K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Jamie Zentmyer, 2.Brian Miller, 3.Brandon Churchey, 4.Chris Ebersole, 5.Ronnie Garlock, 6.Troy Kassiris, 7.Kenny Dillon, 8.Keith Koontz, 9.Wayne Hawbaker, 10.Nick Dibella, 11.Dickie Tharp, 12.Mike Corbin, 13.Jeremy Mills, 14.Keith Koontz, 15.Brian Swiger, 16.Frank Dibella, 17.Craig Parrill, 18.Rick Stouffer, 19.Scooter Jones, 20.Swan Dawson


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Marshall McMullen, 3.Tom Caravello, 4.Davey Gross Jr., 5.William Crook, 6.Jamie Mills, 7.Ralph Hansberger, 8.Jeff Dillon, 9.Krazy Kenny Thomas, 10.Brian Ringer, 11.John Catlett, 12.Rodney Minor, 13.Kenny Thomas, 14.Dwayne Snyder, 15.Jason Sarver, 16.Courtney Deshong, 17.Zack Reid.

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results