Date: 10/18/2015 9:29:33 AM

October 18, 2015                                          For Immediate Release


Friday, October 23 (7:00 p.m.) - 2nd Annual Ernie D's Fall Bash – Crate Late Models 20 Laps, $700 to win, Hobby Stocks 15 Laps, $400 to win, 4 Cylinders 12 Laps $300 to win, Rookie Cars 10 Laps, 200 to win

Saturday, October 24 (5:00 p.m.) - 2nd Annual Ernie D's Fall Bash – Late Models Time Trials, 40 Laps $5,000 to win, Late Model Sportsman 20 Laps $1,200 to win, Pure Stocks, 15 Laps $600 to win, All American outlaws, Two Features


Others tuning up include Kyle Lee with his Second in Late Model Sportsman, Mike Corbin an eighth in Pure Stocks, Alex Boozel his first in Hobby Stocks and Evan Taylor, his first in the Mid Atlantic Modifieds 

HAGERSTOWN, MD – Add another triumph to Andy Anderson’s resume to make it five for the season at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol. Anderson, of Martinsburg, WV had another fast Late Model Saturday in the final tune up for Ernie D’s $5,000 Fall Bash this coming Saturday.

Qualifying with a win of the first heat, Anderson led Keith Jackson the first ten laps until Jackson pitted with a flat while Jason Covert gave chase the final 15 circuits but trailed by 1.34 seconds. 

“The first eight or ten laps nobody told me anything,” Anderson said. “I knew who was behind me, but didn’t know how good of a lead I had.  Bo Feathers saw me under that yellow on lap ten and I was pointing behind me and he started giving me signals the rest of the race. It helps out when someone can let you know if you have a comfortable lead and you can drive your own race or if you need to pick the pace up.”

In a battle with the #2’s, Kyle Lee continued his hot streak with his second Late Model Sportsman victory while Mike Corbin led all but the opening lap to wheel his Pure Stocks to victory for the eighth time. A restart with two to go gave Alex Boozel the opportunity to get past Dylan Rutherford to post his first ever Hobby Stock win at the track while Evan Taylor took the lead of the Mid Atlantic Modified feature with one to go for his first win.  

When Anderson took the green flag, he was hammer down and on another mission with third starting Keith Jackson powering into second with Jamie Lathroum taking third after starting fifth ahead of eighth starting Gary Stuhler.

Following a sixth lap restart, Anderson and Jackson opened some distance on Lathroum while Jason Covert moved into fourth after falling several positions in the opening laps.

Jackson was the victim of a flat tire on the tenth lap as Covert quickly took the runner up spot from Lathroum on the restart but Anderson kept the pace as Covert never got close enough to challenge for the win and trailed by 1.34 seconds.

“Right there at the end, the motor let me down,” Anderson said. “I think it broke one or two valve springs with three to go.”

Dylan Yoder battled with Lathroum and Stuhler the final ten laps and seized third place on the white flag lap with Lathroum and Stuhler completing the top five.

Following qualifying, the Late Model Sportsman feature had a battle of the #2’s with the 2T of Lee on the pole, 2J of Justin Weaver on the outside and 2Z of Dan Zechman in third as Lee powered to the front over Weaver and Zechman and slowed only for a ninth lap caution.

On the restart, Lee was up on the wheel again and pulled away from Weaver while Jonathan DeHaven moved into third and brought Scott Palmer along. Weaver was closing in the final laps but Lee brought him across the finish by a length to spare with DeHaven, Palmer and Rance Garlock next.

“I figured Justin was coming,” Lee said.  “He’s a tough competitor. We’ve raced side by side and luck played out on our side tonight” 

Mike Corbin took the Pure Stock lead from Mike Desch on the second lap while Jamie Zentmyer moved into second on the fourth lap and kept the pressure on but trailed by three lengths at the checkered. Sean Dawson, Jamie Swank and Craig Parrill complete d the top five.

The first two Hobby Stock laps were three wide until Dylan Rutherford broke loose from Marshal McMullen and Alex Boozel.  Rutherford continued to lead Boozel until Boozel charged ahead following a 13th lap restart for McMullen’s mechanical issue. Boozel carried a two length lead over Jamie Mills at the finish followed by Rutherford, Jeff Dillon and Matt Wampler.

Dan Davies led the Mid Atlantic Modifieds over Craig Ramich until Davies jumped a fifth lap restart with Ramich taking over and Evan Taylor into second. The two pulled a straightaway ahead of Derek Deusenberry with Ramich having a flat to display the yellow with one to go. Taylor charged ahead to win by more than ten lengths over Deusenberry. Dennis Perigo, Davies and Mike Reynolds were next. 

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.



Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Models, 25 Laps: 1.Andy Anderson, 2.Jason Covert, 3.Dylan Yoder, 4.Jamie Lathroum, 5.Gary Stuhler, 6.Jason Miller, 7.Kyle Hardy, 8.Trever Feathers 9.Allen Brannon, 10.Jim Yoder, 11.Keith Jackson, 12.Marvin Winters, 13.Glenn Elliott, 14.Andy Fries, 15.Andy Haus, 16.Brent Smith, 17.Jerry Bard, 18. Roy Deese Jr., 19.Chad Myers, 20.Jon Rohacevich, 21.Dave Zona


Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Kyle Lee, 2.Justin Weaver, 3.Jonathan DeHaven 4.Scott Palmer, 5.Rance Garlock, 6.Chad Julius, 7.Kirk Zimmerman, 8.Dan Zechman, 9.Steve Lowery, 10.Ryan Walls, 11.Eddie Cornett, 12.Kevin Palmer, 13.Kris Eaton, 14.Eric Irvin, 15.Joe Westerman Jr., 16.Dave Friedrich, 17.Nathan Lasalle, 18.Kenneth Yoder, 19.Craig Smith, 20.Mitch Miller, 21.Garrett Walls, 22.Brayden Anderson, 23.A.J. Dawson, DNS -.John Rowland, Ralph Morgan Jr.


K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.Jamie Zentmyer, 3.Sean Dawson, 4.Jamie Swank, 5.Craig Parill, 6.Keith Koontz, 7.Darrin Younker, 8.Ronnie Garlock, 9.Mike Desch, 10.Bryan Kerns, 11.Boyd Brode, 12.Zane Weicht, 13.Charlie Pensinger, 14.Jerry Jenkins Jr., 15.Jesse Snyder, 16.Tony Stoneberger, 17.Brandon Churchey


Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Alex Boozel, 2.Jamie Mills, 3.Dylan Rutherford, 4.Jeff Dillon, 5.Matt Wampler, 6.Jason Sarver, 7.John Catlett, 8.Danny Holmes, 9.Courtney Deshong, 10.James Mongan Jr., 11.Marshall McMullen, 12.William Crook, 13.Zachary Myers, 14.Bobby Meixsell, 15.Tyler Gray, 16.Krazy Kenny Thomas. 


Mid Atlantic Modifieds, 20 Laps: 1.Evan Taylor, 2.Derek Deusenberry, 3.Dennis Perigo, 4.Dan Davies, 5.Mike Reynolds, 6.Brent Bordeau, 7.Josh Cramer, 8.Vic Vandergrift, 9.Andrew Swope, 10.Craig Ramich, 11.William Mongold, 12.Justin Milburn, 13.Rich Goodman, 14.Jonathan Taylor, 15.Bill Pluta Jr., 16.Bret Hamilton, 17.Mark Jones, DNS – Alyssa Rowe, Ryne Pennington


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results