Date: 10/24/2015 11:23:20 PM

October 24, 2015                                                      For Immediate Release





Saturday, Night 2, October 24 (5:00 p.m.) - 2nd Annual Ernie D's Fall Bash – Late Models Time Trials, 40 Laps $5,000 to win, Late Model Sportsman 20 Laps $1,200 to win, Pure Stocks, 15 Laps $600 to win, All American Outlaws, Two Features




HAGERSTOWN, MD – In Friday’s night one of the 2nd Annual Ernie D’s Fall Bash, Allen Brannon, aboard the Leo Nichols Crate Late Model, took charge of the 20-lap feature on the fifth lap and continued on to post the triumph by 5.62 seconds over Dan Angelicchio. Winchester, Va.’s Brannon started from the fifth position and passed polesitter Tyler Bare and later stretched out his lead following an 11th lap caution.

“I had Evan on the back straightaway and Brian on the front straightway telling me about my lead,” Brannon said. “I wanted to run this car tonight and kind of get the feel of it and see what another car would feel like. The car feels good.”

The Hobby Stock feature was won by Alex Boozel who made it two for two, having won the Small Car Nationals feature on his last trip to the track. Ed Gageby was the winner of the Four Cylinder feature while Ryan Peer took the Rookie Car checkered. 

Winner of the first heat, third generation driver Tyler Bare led the field from the pole position while Brannon sped from fifth into the runner up spot by the second lap. Following a fourth lap restart, Brannon went into action and got by Bare and began pulling away and had more than a two second lead erased on the 11th lap yellow. 

Under the green flag, Brannon again stretched his lead while Bare was being occupied by Brian Booze, Dan Angelicchio and Logan Roberson. Angelicchio got under Bare on the 18th lap but Brannon was a straightaway ahead. Roberson dropped Bare to fourth the next circuit as Booze rounded out the top five.

Walter Nichols of Walrus Signs of Winchester added an additional $100 to both the first and second place finishers. Jim Stevens of Penske Shocks also added an additional $100 to four finishing positions.

Boozel also was the first heat winner and began the Hobby Stock feature from the pole with Jonathan Raley taking over the runner up spot until dropping out with mechanical issues. Marshall McMullen then held second until Jason Davis went by on the tenth lap. Boozel lost a three plus second lead on the 11th lap but continued to hold on while Mike Goodman was making his presence known to Davis.  A one lap shootout decided the outcome as Boozel went on to win by two lengths over Davis and Goodwin with Eric Johnson and Jerry Deason completing the top five.

“We’ve had an incredible year,” Boozel said. “I think winning races is done in the shop and we definitely put a lot of time getting it ready. This is the best way we could end the year, I couldn’t be happier.”

Austin Stover led the Four Cylinders from the outside pole with Gary Newell second until being passed by Bill Kessler on the third lap. Stover continued to hold on until Kessler made contact with him on the final lap and Gageby drove by to take the lead and Justin Hottle pulled into the runner up spot. Kessler went on to finish third over Stover and Michael Pfaff.

Ryan Peer left the outside pole position in the Rookie Car 10-lap feature and never looked back. Andrew Pluta Jr. came from fifth to begin the chase on the second lap. Following a seventh lap caution, Peer left Pluta, Garrett Watkins, Wayne Brenize and Haley Kaiser battled for second with Watkins taking the spot for the eighth and ninth laps but Pluta recaptured the position on the final circuit. Brenize, Watkins and Kaiser finished in that order.  

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.




Crate Late Models, 20 Laps: 1.Allen Brannon, 2.Dan Angelicchio, 3.Logan Roberson, 4.Tyler Bare, 5.Brian Booze, 6.Brad McGinnis, 7.Billy Beachler, 8.Shaun Wetzel, 9.Cody Dawson, 10.Paul McGinley, 11.Kris Eaton, 12.Richard Hawkins, 13.Scott Sweeney, 14.Tyler Wayne Hoy,

 15.Jennae Piper, 16.Brad Rigdon, 17.Bryan Benton, 18.Matt Padula, 19.Matt Glanden, 20.Dave Friedrich, 21.Reese Masiello, 22.Wes Branner, 23.Scott Tessman, 24.Walter Nichols


Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Alex Boozel, 2.Jason Davis, 3.Mike Goodwin, 4.Eric Johnson, 5.Jerry Deason, 6.Matt Wampler, 7.Brandon English, 8.Shyann Bard, 9.Jason Hagerty, 10.Jeff Dillon, 11.John Catlett, 12.Justin Rosenberger, 13.James Mongan Jr., 14.Danny Holmes, 15.Kevin Mays, 16.James Jones, 17.Marshall McMullen, 18.Patrick McClane, 19.Jamie Mills, 20.Jason Zook, 21.Dyulan Rutherford, 22.Gary Proctor, 23.Rodney Miner, 24.Johnathan Raley, 25.Billy Ecton, 26.Ralph Hansberger, DNS: Jason Sarver, Davey Gross


Four Cylinders, 12 Laps: 1.Ed Gageby, 2.Justin Hottle, 3.Bill Kessler, 4.Austin Stover, 5.Michael Pfaff, 6.Michael Warrenfeltz, 7.Tyler Kirby, 8.Gary Newell, 9.Ethan Ours, DNS- William Riley


Rookie Cars, 10 Laps:  1.Ryan Peer, 2.Andrew Pluta Jr., 3.Wayne Brenize, 4.Garrett Watkins, 5.Haley Kaiser, 6.Zach Moist, 7.Mark Pollard, 8.Larry Lamb, 9.Andrew Moist, 10.Gregory Carrico, 11.Adam Morgan, 12.Ricky Feltner, 13.Terry Hartlaub, 14.Brent Howell, 15.Josh Ringer, 16.Robrt Wilson 


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results