Date: 10/25/2015 8:59:28 AM

October 25, 2015                          For Immediate Release




Weaver (Late Model Sportsman), Dawson (Pure Stocks), Cullum/Holmes split wins (All American Outlaws)


HAGERSTOWN, MD: Winning the first heat from third and then leading all 40 laps of Saturday’s 2nd Annual Ernie D’s Fall Bash from the pole, Marvin Winters picked up $5,000 for his efforts, his third triumph of the season. He held off Kyle Hardy, Trever Feathers, Gregg Satterlee and at the end it was Dylan Yoder who trailed at the checkered by 1.29 seconds.

“This is the best season I’ve ever had, I’m sure,” Winters said. “But I have to give all the credit to the ones that work on the car; Gerry Barges, my son Colby, my wife Dana; she does a great job lettering and makes it look good, Mark Smith with his shocks and Tex Shaffer, he owns the car and gives us what we need to race every week and I appreciate that.”  

The two night Fall Bash signified the end of the season for Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol LLC with exception of the Awards Banquet to be held December 5th.

Defending Bash winner Justin Weaver picked up $1,200 for his fifth season triumph while Sean Dawson led all the way in the non-stop Pure Stock features while Justin Cullum and Danny Holmes split the two All American Outlaws features.

On the initial Late Model start, Andy Anderson got help to spin in turn four of the opening lap. On the restart, a melee ensued with a dozen cars scattered off turn four with Keith Jackson, Anderson and Gene Knaub requiring the use of a tow truck to remove them from the scene. The next try saw Tyler Hershey spin in four and the final try had Kyle Hardy called for jumping the start and sent back five rows. 

Winters took off with Trever Feathers, Dylan Yoder, Gregg Satterlee and Devin Friese following. He pulled away more than four seconds by the14th lap when arriving at the back of the field and steadily maneuvered the rear cars while Satterlee had just moved past Feathers and began to reel him in.

While Winters was occupied with traffic, Satterlee had closed to three lengths by the 26th lap with the yellow coming out two laps later when Hardy slowed to a stop.

“You have to be concerned when Gregg Satterlee is behind you, he’s a tough customer,” Winters said. “Once the rubber came in I thought if I stay in line I might be okay and then I ran up on the lapped cars and I couldn’t pass. I figured he’d have a shot at me but luckily we got the caution that helped me.”

On the restart Satterlee was slow coming up to speed and positions changed in the order as Yoder quickly moved into the runner up spot with Friese to third before Satterlee got into position. Winters and Yoder drove away from Friese by more than five seconds but Yoder settled for the runner up position. Kenny Pettyjohn took the fifth spot from Feathers with two to go.

Winters, Hardy, Satterlee and Anderson were the heat winners with Brian Tavenner taking the consolation win. Satterlee set fast time of 20.067 seconds for the 33 entries. Promoter Ernie Davis added Glenn Elliott as a provisional.

The 20-Lap $1,200 to win Late Model Sportsman line up had Kyle Lee and D.J. Myers on the front row as it took several tries to get a lap completed as besides several incidents, one for Myers jumping the start and then Mother Nature began sprinkling for several minutes and additional laps were turned to regroom the track.

Lee pulled to the front as Weaver took second from David Williams on the fourth lap and took over the lead when the sixth lap was for Lee, who encountered a spun car sitting sideways in the third turn and spun trying to avoid but slid into it sideways but able to tag the rear of the field.

Weaver charged on while 2015 track champion Scott Palmer passed Williams for second on the ninth lap but could not get close enough to challenge. Weaver continued to hold a comfortable lead and went on to win by 1.35 seconds as Palmer settled for the runner up position, the same as in last years event.

“I spent two weeks straight all night trying to get better and better and we’re getting there,” Weaver said. “Everybody helps on this thing; I can’t thank them enough.”

Lee, Myers and Allen Brannon were the heat winners with Matt Nailor taking the consolation win. Promoter Davis added Garrett Walls and Brayden Anderson to the starting field.

Mike Desch and Dawson were the Pure Stock heat winners and occupied the front row of the $600 to win feature as Dawson pulled to the front but he had challengers with Desch and Brandon Churchey hot in pursuit with Mike Potts and defending winner Mike Corbin not far behind. Dawson had no room for error as Churchey took second on the sixth lap and pulled alongside several times but could not lead at the flag stand. Desch came back to retake the runner up spot on the13th lap with Churchey, Potts and Corbin completing the top five.

“The last time I won here was 15 years ago in a Hub City race in a four cylinder so it’s been a little while,” Dawson said. “This is special.”

In the first All American Outlaw feature, Randy Doty was leading with Bryan Green trailing by a half stretch. Following a 14th lap restart, Green got his bumper tangled with Doty with a resulting red flag for a hard crash at the end of the backstretch involving the top six runners and heavy damage to several.  Justin Cullum went on to claim the win over Danny Holmes who was third and missed the incident.

Holmes led the second feature all the way over Jeff McCauley who was passed by Brad Shank on the final lap.

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook at Dirt Capitol LLC and also check out Ernie D’s Turn 5 on Facebook with information about events, driver’s interviews and more. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.


Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol Results

2nd Annual Ernie D’s Fall Bash


Late Models, 40 Laps: 1.Marvin Winters, 2.Dylan Yoder, 3.Devin Friese, 4.Gregg Satterlee, 5.Kenny Pettyjohn, 6.Trever Feathers, 7.Jason Covert, 8.Jamie Lathroum, 9.Brad Omps, 10.Dan Stone, 11.Jason Miller, 12.Brian Tavenner, 13.Gary Stuhler, 14.Allen Brannon, 15. Mason Zeigler, 16.Ross Robinson, 17.Mark Pettyjohn, 18.Glenn Elliott, 19.D.J. Troutman, 20.Tyler Hershey, 21.Andy Anderson, 22.Keith  Jackson, 23.Gene Knaub, 24.Dan Angelicchio,  DSQ- Kyle Hardy- Unsportsman Conduct, DNQ – Donald Lingo Jr., Jerry Bard, Andy Fries, C.S. Fitzgerald, Jim Yoder, Pancho Lawler, Matt Sponaugle, Steve Axtell Jr.


Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Justin Weaver, 2.Scott Palmer, 3.D.J. Myers, 4.Kyle Lear, 5.Kyle Lee, 6.Jimmy Jesmer Jr.7.Andrew Yoder, 8.Daryl Hills, 9.Jonathan DeHaven, 10.Bernie Beard, 11.David Williams, 12.Cody Lear, 13.Kevin Palmer, 14.Darrell Dick, 15.Dan Zechman, 16.Kris Eaton, 17.Brent Smith, 18.Allen Brannon, 19.Mitch Miller, 20.Garrett Walls, 21.Chad Julius, 22.Matt Naylor, 23.Sammy Rial, 24.Rance Garlock, 25.Bruce Kane, 26.Brayden Anderson,  DNQ – Kenneth Yoder, Joe Westerman Jr., John Rowland, Gino Comi, Don Woodruff 


Pure Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Sean Dawson, 2.Mike Desch, 3.Brandon Churchey, 4.Mike Potts, 5.Mike Corbin, 6.Craig Parrill, 7.Jamie Zentmyer,8.Boyd Brode, 9.Jamey Swank, 10.Ronnie Garlock, 11.Jesse Snyder, 12.Barry Williams Sr., 13.Walter Lemmon, 14.Zane Weicht


All American Outlaws #1, 20 Laps: 1.Justin Cullum, 2.Danny Holmes, 3.Scott Jorda, 4.Brad Shank, 5.Jeff McCauley, 6.Tony Jorda, 7.Randy Doty, 8.Bryan Green, 9.Jim Minter, 10.Hunter Nestor,  DNS-Tim Fake

All American Outlaws #2, 8 Laps: 1.Danny Holmes, 2.Brad Shank , 3.Jeff McCauley, 4.Tim Fake, 5.Tony Jorda 



Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results