Sundance Sunday Openers go to Ebersole, Fisher, Moyer and DeRitis

Date: 4/26/2009 8:41:51 PM

For immediate release - thank you


Sundance Vacations Speedway media contact:

Gene Ostrowski  (570) 752-7193      

Promoter:  Joe Callavini (570) 788-7544


Upcoming events:

Sun May 3- Sport Modifieds, Street Stocks, 4 Cyl. FWD, INEX Legends, PLUS Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club and Checkered Flag Fan Club Day

Sun May 3- Regular "B Program" with Sport Mods, Street Stocks, 4 Cyl. FWDs and Legends PLUS Checkered Flag Fan Club day


Sundance Sunday Openers go to Ebersole, Fisher, Moyer and DeRitis

St. Johns, Pa- What’s known as the “A Program” on the racing schedule at Sundance Vacations Speedway hit the track Sunday for opening day. Eighteen-year-old Kyle Ebersole endured the heat and on track activity to nail down the Modified victory and Travis Fish scored his first career Late Model victory at the track. Chris DeRitis rocketed to the TQ Midget win and Mike Moyer, Jr. took top honors in the Factory Stock and dedicated the emotional win to “The Hammer”, Don Schellhammer. Each feature winner was awarded jackets from the Checkered Flag Fan Club.


Kyle Ebersole and seventeen other Modified division competitors took to the speedway with hopes of running a quick 40-lap main event. Ebersole started on the pole following his fast qualifying time and paced the field to the drop of the green flag.


The drivers crossed the strip after completing the first circuit and Rusty Smith began to breath down Ebersole’s back door. Brian DeFebo held third, followed by Darren Scherer and Andy Walko.


DeFebo appeared to have one of the cars to beat as he slipped by Smith for second following a restart in the early going. Unfortunately, he was forced to head pit side with mechanical woes shortly after.


Several caution periods plagued the event, including a red flag on lap seventeen, due to dirt and debris on the speedway after Todd Baer drove through the infield. Track clean up was completed and Ebersole continued to lead over Smith, Scherer, Barry Callavini and Billy Weichert.


Track Officials cut the race by five laps due to the number of caution periods and Smith had multiple restarts to attempt to steal the race lead from Ebersole. Ebersole had none of it and held on to notch his second career verdict at the track over Smith, Scherer, Callavini and Weichert.


“I have to thank my family for this one”, said Ebersole as he climbed from his car in victory lane. “The car was fast and drawing the pole for the redraw (for starting positions) is what really won us the race”.


Austin Kochenash led the Late Model field to the green flag in the 30-lap feature. After starting on the outside of the front row, Travis Fisher took the race lead and Mike Sweeney followed passed Kochenash for second. Kochenash dropped to third with Mike Coll and Ed Bauer in the top five.


Sweeney began to pressure Fisher for the race lead and jumped to the outside line of the track. Just when he thought that he had the race lead, the second of four yellow flags waved when Will Schneider made hard contact with the front stretch wall. The dejected Sweeney had to restart from the second position.


Slowly but surely, Jerry Hildebrand began to work toward the front from his eighth starting spot and moved by Kochenash for fourth on lap nine. He then raced side-by-side with Coll for third.


With Fisher sill atop the field, Coll pressured Sweeney for second and the end result was a turn two tangle. Sweeney was forced to restart at the tail end of the field and Hildebrand moved into the second spot.


Despite the great run by Hildebrand, Fisher held on to score his first late model feature win at the speedway. Sweeney made a great drive back toward the front, but ran out of time and settled for third. Kochenash finished an impressive fourth and after starting tenth, Paul Monkoski completed the top five.


After winning the pole position on qualifying day, Bob Wink picked number seven for the factory stock redraw, which meant that the entire field was inverted.


Rookie, Kendall Faulk led the field to the drop of the green flag and was quickly overtaken by Kevin Makarewicz for the race lead.

Paul Morgan, J. got his chance to lead after disposing of Makarewicz. Unfortunate for Makarewicz, his day ended on lap five with mechanical woes.


Mike Moyer, Jr. started sixth, caught and passed Morgan for the race lead on lap six. He never looked back and took the convincing win over Morgan. Despite starting dead last, Wink raced his way into the third spot, followed by Keith Emmons and Jason Gould.


Moyer was emotional in victory lane and dedicated the win to Don “The Hammer” Schellhammer, a former sponsor and great friend of his who passed away over the winter months.


Austin Fehr led the first four laps of the 25-lap TQ Midget main event before being overtaken by Paul Lotier, Jr.


Chris DeRitis slipped by Fehr and into second, and still retained the spot with eight laps completed. At that point in time, Tim Buckwalter, who started in the twelfth spot held third, followed by Fehr and Matt Janisch.


DeRitis hounded Lotier and completed the pass for the lead on lap eighteen. DeRitis drove off to claim the victory over Tim Behmer and Zack Martini.


Heat race wins went to Paul Lotier, Jr. and Frank Fischer.


Sundance Vacations Speedway is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. Grandstand admission for all regular events is just $10 for ages 11 and older. Children 10 years of age and younger are admitted for free. For more information including the entire season schedule and the division points standings, please visit


Modified (35-laps) 1. KYLE EBERSOLE 2. Rusty Smith 3. Daren Scherer 4. Barry Callavini 5. Billy Weichert 6. Lewis Hallock 7. Jim Zacharias 8. Todd Baer 9. Jerry Woody 10. Tommy Wanick III 11. Bobby Jones 12. Harry Buchman 13. Cal Snyder 14. Andy Walko 15. Nick Pecko 16. David Schneider 17.Larry Fisher 18. Brian Defebo


Late Model (25-laps) 1. TRAVIS FISHER 2. Jerry Hildebrand 3. Mike Sweeney 4. Austin Kochenash 5. Paul Monkoski 6. Jennifer Kutz 7. Justin Onderko 8. Rob Koller 9. Joseph Burns 10. Mike Coll 11. Ed Bauer 12. William Schneider


Factory Stock (20-laps) 1. MIKE MOYER, JR. 2. Paul Morgan Jr 3. Bob Wink 4. Keith Emmons 5. Jason Gould 6. Kendall Faulk 7. Kevin Makarewicz


TQ Midgets (25-laps) 1. CHRIS DERITIS 2. Paul Lotier Jr 3. Tim Buckwalter 4. Tim Behmer 5. Zack Martini 6. Matt Janisch 7. Austin Fehr 8. Mike Tidaback 9. Ian Cummens 10. Robin Johnston 11. Jeff Kot 12. Rudy Botticher 13. Bruce Leote 14. Matt Janisch 15. David Williams 16. Matthew Roselli 17.Billy Murphy 18. Frank Fischer 19. Alison Cummens

Return-to-Mountain Speeway News and Results