Bobby Jones Notches First Career Sundance Modified Victory

Date: 5/24/2009 1:48:23 AM


For immediate release - thank you


Sundance Vacations Speedway media contact:

Gene Ostrowski  (570) 752-7193      

Promoter:  Joe Callavini (570) 788-7544


Upcoming events:

Saturday, May 30- Sport Modifieds, Street Stocks, FWDs, Legends and Mini Cups

Saturday, June 6- 2nd Annual Evergreen Raceway Reunion with Modifieds, Late Models, Factory Stocks, TQ Midgets and the Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club


Bobby Jones Notches First Career Sundance Modified Victory


St. Johns, PA- Despite passing rain showers from time to time, Bobby Jones of Lehighton notched his first career Sundance Vacations Speedway Modified victory Saturday night. Joe Hoffman made a three wide pass for the lead stick, which enabled him to visit victory lane for the first time this season in the Late Models and Jay Gould notched his first career win in the Factory Stock division and Matt Janisch drove off to victory in the TQ Midget main event. The Atlantic Coast Old Timers were also on hand and provided the fans with an exhibition event during intermission.


Nick Pecko led the Modified field to the drop of the green flag and led a lap before he was overtaken by Harry Buchman in the 40-lap Modified main event. After three laps of competition, Bobby Jones held third, followed by Todd Baer and Jimmy Zacharias.


Jones overtook Pecko for second and then the yellow flag waved when Billy Weichert spun in turn four and collected Wayne Szerencsits.


Jones wasted no time moving into the race lead, as he powered by Buchman on the restart. With Zacharias in tow, Baer grabbed second from Buchman two laps later.


Jones began to distance himself from Baer and Zacharias, who lap after lap, raced hard for the runner-up position. Barry Callavini worked his way into fourth just past the halfway mark and Weichert made his way back into the top five.


The caution flew with seven laps remaining when Buchman got into Weichert in turn two. Both drivers were forced to restart from the tail end of the field.


Baer and Zacharias tried to stay with Jones, but were unsuccessful, as Jones drover away to his first modified victory at the speedway. Baer held off Zacharias to finish in second. Callavini finished in the fourth spot, followed by Pecko.


“Last year it seemed like everything went wrong”, said Jones in victory lane. “Tonight it went right and we finally got one”, he said.


Jones dedicated the race win to Keith Kocher, his long time friend and competitor who passed away earlier this year.


Harry Buchman and Bobby Jones were heat race winners.


Jennifer Kutz started from the pole position and was overtaken by Justin Onderko for the race lead early on in the 30-lap Late Model feature.


The first of two cautions waved with three laps complete when Mitch Hawk made contact with Kutz in turns one and two.


Green flag racing resumed, and Travis Fisher overtook Onderko for the race lead on lap five. Due to a passing rainstorm, the yellow flag flew shortly after.


With track drying complete, green flag racing resumed and Fisher had his hands full with his father, Larry, Joe Hoffman, Onderko and last season’s champion, Mike Sweeney.


Hoffman began to work on L. Fisher for second and finally made his charge to the outside on lap twenty-four. Realizing that “it was time to go”, L. Fisher dove to the bottom of T. Fisher in turn three with hopes of grabbing the race lead.


The three drivers battled three wide for moments and Hoffman shot out of turn four with the race lead.


Hoffman, of Drums, went on to take his first victory of the season over T. Fisher, L. Fisher, Sweeney and Onderko.


Travis Fisher and Mike Sweeney scored heat race wins.


Looking for his first career Factory Stock win, Kevin Makarewicz paced the field to the drop of the green flag in the 20-lap feature.


The caution flew early when a flume of smoke erupted from the race machine driven by Paul Morgan, Jr.


Makarewicz drove off with the early lead following the restart and was trailed by Jay Gould, Mike Moyer, Jr., Mike O’Byrne and Kendall Faulk.


Moyer, who was looking for his third straight win the season, grabbed second from Gould on lap six and appeared to have something for Makarewicz, but that all changed with only three laps remaining.


With victory in sight, Makarewicz broke an axel and at the same time Moyer received a flat tire. The change of events put Gould into the race lead.


Gould was flawless on the restart and drover off to his first career victory. Moyer rebounded to finish as the runner-up, followed by Wayne Lowe, Scott Adams and O’Byrne.


Matt Janisch started from the pole position and led flag-to-flag in the 25-lap TQ Midget main event en route to his first win of the season. Austin Fehr had his best outing of the season with a second place effort, followed by Tim Behmer.


Matt Janisch and Allison Cumens notched heat race wins.


Travis Fisher (Late Model) and Barry Callavini (Modified) each pocketed cash from the Sundance Vacations driver Contingency Program. Program details can be found on the track website at


Sundance Vacations Speedway is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. Grandstand admission for all regular events is just $10 for ages 11 and older. Children 10 years of age and younger are admitted for free.


Modifieds (40-laps) 1. BOBBY JONES 2. Todd Baer 3. Jim Zacharias 4. Barry Callavini 5. Nick Pecko 6. Lewis Hallock 7. Billy Weichert 8. David Schneider 9. Frank Reakes 10. Harry Buchman 11. Jim Bojohnny Jr 12. Mike Skarbowski 13. Scott Adams 14. Allan Creveling 15. Wayne Szerencsits


Late Models (30-laps) 1. JOE HOFFMAN 2. Travis Fisher 3. Larry Fisher 4. Mike Sweeney 5. Justin Onderko 6. William Schneider 7. Mitch Hawk 8. Jennifer Kutz 9. Kyle Harvell 10. Rob Koller 11. Jerry Hildebrand 12. Paul Monkoski


Factory Stocks (20-laps) 1. JASON GOULD 2. Mike Moyer Jr 3. Wayne Lowe 4. Scott Adams 5. Mike O'Byrne 6. Kendal Faulk 7. Kevin Makarewicz 8. Bob Wink 9. Paul Morgan Jr


TQ Midgets (25-laps) 1. MATT JANISCH 2. Austin Fehr 3. Donnie Adams 4. Alison Cummens 5. Tim Behmer 6. Paul Lotier Jr 7. Frank Fischer 8. Ian Cummens 9. Robin Johnston 10. Paul Kunkel 11. Rudy Botticher 12. Tim Proctor 13. Dave Williams 14. Mark Janisch 15. Mike Tidaback

Return-to-Mountain Speeway News and Results