Zane Zeiner Leads Way at Sundance Vacations Speedway

Date: 5/31/2009 12:47:22 AM

For immediate release…thank you


Sundance Vacations Speedway media contact:

Gene Ostrowski  (570) 752-7193      

Promoter:  Joe Callavini (570) 788-7544


Upcoming events:

Saturday, June 6- 2nd Annual Evergreen Raceway Reunion with Modifieds, Late Models, Factory Stocks, TQ Midgets and the Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club- $5 GRANDSTAND ADMISSION!


Zane Zeiner Leads Way at Sundance Vacations Speedway


St. Johns, PA- For the first time in over a month the “B Program” of racing was held at Sundance Vacations Speedway. Zane Zeiner notched his first win of the season, as he drove to victory in the Sport Modified main event. He grabbed his second win of the season shortly, as he competed in the INEX Legends division. Brian Sones bested a full field of Street Stocks to notch his first win of the season and after sitting out a couple of years due to a work related accident, Pete Verwys took the 4 Cyl. FWD division laurels. After losing his mother on Monday, Ken Stabley drove to the emotional Mini Cup victory.


Frank Reakes led the Sport Modified field to the drop of the green flag in the 30-lap main event, but Ricky Ross, Jr. quickly took the race lead. Reakes tucked into the second spot, followed by Zane Zeiner, Mike Skarbowski and Barry Callavini.


Zeiner moved by Reakes a few circuits later and overtook Ross for the lead on lap four. Shortly after, Skarbowski raced by Reakes and into third.


Several solo spins slowed the event in the early going and once green flag racing resumed, Skarbowski got by Ross for second.


Callavini headed pit side under caution when his car slowed on the speedway. The change of events moved Jason Hearn into the top five. Meanwhile, Earl Paules, who started tenth, began to charge toward the top five.


First Paules moved by Reakes and into fifth on lap eight and then he overtook Hearne for fourth seven laps later. Next he shot by Ross for third following a restart with nine laps remaining.


Despite Skarbowski on his back bumper, Zeiner, of Bath, PA, held on to visit victory lane for the first time this season. Skarbowski finished a career best second, followed by Paules, Hearne and Reakes.


Heat race winners were Zane Zeiner and Ricky Ross, Jr.


Steve Hoffman and Josh Oswald shared the front row for the start of the 25-lap Street Stock feature event. The green flag flew and after one lap of racing was completed, Hoffman led over Brian Sones, Oswald, Richie DiMarco and Mike Shadder.


The caution flag waved five laps in when Chip Wanamaker, Steve Clark and Ron Babula collected in turn four. Clark suffered damage and was forced to retire from the event.


The green flag waved again and the yellow flew again, this time for a turn one incident involving Oswald, Shadder, Robert Fink and Joe Barbush. Barbush sustained significant rear end damage and was towed pit side.


Racing resumed and Sones jumped to the outside of Hoffman. The two dueled side-by-side for a number of laps before the yellow was thrown when DiMarco, who tried to go three-wide for the race lead was spun in turn two.


Sones, of Sandy Valley, PA lined up on the outside of the leader for the restart and grabbed the race lead. The young driver went on to take the win, which was the second of his career, over Brad Barbush, Shultz, DiMarco and Danny Cascioli. Sones announced in victory lane that he would be making his Sport Modified debut in a month.


Heat race winners were Brad Barbush, Steve Hoffman and Richie DiMarco.   


Fifteen cars strong, Eric Banashefski grabbed the race lead from polesitter, Pete Maier at the start of the 20-lap 4 Cyl. FWD feature. A quick caution flew one lap in when Ken Kleppinger got into Brian Kunkel and turn him around.


Robert Fink grabbed the second spot following the restart and hounded Banashefski until he completed a pass for the lead on lap four. Jake Oswald held third, followed by Chris Toole and Pete Verwys.


Verwys wasted no time and moved by several drivers and into second prior to a lap six caution, which involved Nikki Sager and Oswald.


Verwys grabbed the race lead following the restart and drove away to score his first win since 2005. It was also his first start since being severely injured in a work related accident two years prior. Fink, Jon Smith, Kleppinger and Banashefski completed the top five.


Jon Smith and Robert Fink were heat race winners.


Following his win in the Sport Modified main event, Zane Zeiner started from the pole and held off Scott Hubler to score his second victory of the evening in the 15-lap INEX Legends feature. Luke Marzano, Raven Schrantz and Joe DeGracia completed the top five.


After winning the heat race earlier in the afternoon, Ken Stabley began the 15-lap Mini Cup race from the pole position. He led the first five circuits before spinning off of turn two, which handed the lead to Matt Custer.


Stabley however worked his way back through the field and overtook the race leader with a few laps remaining to take the victory.


Heath Hendershot was the runner-up, followed by Mark Lockcuff, Aaron Turner and Custer.


The victory was a very emotional one for Stabley, as he lost his mother the Monday before the event.


Sundance Vacations Speedway is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. Grandstand admission for all regular events is just $10 for ages 11 and older. Children 10 years of age and younger are admitted for free. For further information, please visit the track site at


Sport Modifieds (30-laps) 1. ZANE ZEINER 2. Mike Skarbowski 3. Earl Paules 4. Jason Hearne 5. Frank Reakes 6. Kevin Orlando 7. Barry Callavini 8. Ricky Ross Jr 9. Scott Adams 10. Beryle Herman 11. Matt Clemens 12. Pat Verwys 13. Harry Schaefer 14. Joe Wielgosz 15. Paul Frantz 16. Rick Zacharias 17.Mike Mangini


Street Stocks (25-laps) 1. BRIAN SONES 2. Brad Barbush 3. Steve Shultz 4. Rich Dimarco 5. Dan Cascioli 6. Steve Hoffman 7. Chip Wanamaker 8. John Stonier 9. Ron Babula 10. Robert Fink 11. CJ Lehmann 12. Josh Oswald 13. Jeff McGrath 14. Nick Shaw 15. Mike Schadder 16. Tony Hilliard 17.Joe Barbush 18. Steve Clark 19. Paul Frantz DNS: Brian Wozniak, Harry Sager


4 Cyl FWD (20-laps) 1. PETE VERWYS 2. Robert Fink 3. John Smith 4. Ken Kleppinger 5. Eric Banashefski 6. Chris Toole 7. Brain Kunkel 8. Mike Kline 9. Nikki Sager 10. Jake Oswald 11. Pete Maier 12. Joe Katona 13. Frank Katona 14. Justin Hughes 15. Curtis McCormick


Mini Cups (15-laps) 1. KEN STABLEY 2. Heath Hendershot 3. Mark Lockcuff 4. Aaron Turner 5. Matt Custer DNS: Andrew Miller


INEX Legends (15-laps) 1. ZANE ZEINER 2. Scott Hubler 3. Luke Marzano 4. Raven Schrantz 5. Joe DeGracia

Return-to-Mountain Speeway News and Results