Eric Banashefski Takes First Sport Modified Win at Evergreen Raceway Park - Nick Baer Earns First Evergreen Four Cylinder Victory

Date: 5/4/2014 10:28:56 PM

For immediate release…thank you

Evergreen Raceway Park media contact:

Gene Ostrowski  (570) 231-1272      

Manager:  Harry Buchman (570) 401-3021


Upcoming Shows

Sunday, May 11- Mother's Day

Modifieds (Twin 20s), Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders, Dirt Modifieds and INEX Legends

Eric Banashefski Takes First Sport Modified Win at Evergreen Raceway Park

Nick Baer Earns First Evergreen Four Cylinder Victory

By: Kyle Magda

St. Johns -- After surviving late restarts and a 30-minute rain delay, Nick Baer found himself in victory lane after an eventful Four Cylinder Feature.

Baer won the first heat race, while last week’s Four Cylinder feature winner John Banashefski took the second.

Last weekend on Opening Day, Baer has some bad luck, cutting a right-rear tire while going three-wide with Banashefski and Harry O’Neill in the feature.

The first lap of this week’s feature was eventful to say the least, after pole-sitter Banashefski made contact with the No. 11 of Bob Azarowicz.  The No. 13 car made a brush with as the grass, as Azarowicz was done for the day.

Shorty thereafter, rain started to fall and the track was in a holding pattern.

A half-hour later, officials decided to finish the race, as the sun came out and helped the track drying process.

The race restarted with only one lap in the books.  Baer started to pull away from Ray Fennell IV.  Banashefski had to start in the rear and fight his way back to the front.

Baer took control of the lead, with cars battling for position behind him.  Heather Fennell was in close pursuit of her brother for the second spot.

The No. 41 weaved in and out of traffic with no issues and was cruising to the win.

The caution waved on lap 18, as a cone was knocked onto the track.

This set up a green-white-checkered finish.

Something new that was instituted in 2014 at Evergreen is double-file restarts, as they are seen in NASCAR on a weekly.

Baer got a great jump on the restart, until Heather Fennell made contact with her dad, Ray Fennell III, and sent his No. 88 car spinning.  Fennell III would rebound to a fourth-place finish.

The cars got through one lap, until Jay Skupski and Bill Price Jr. crashed in turn one.  Both cars were towed back to the pit area.

The green and white flag waved with Baer out in front.  Once again, he got a good restart, as the battle was for second through fifth.

Baer grabbed his first victory of the season and raced the King of the Mountain event last October when it was still Mountain Speedway.

Heather Fennell finished second, as Banashefski, Ray Fennell III and Ray Fennell IV rounded out the top five.

The Street Stocks win went to Randy Schlenker, his first win at the track since 1999.  The top six starting positions were determined by a random draw for the top three finishers in the two heat races.

Schlenker led the first 20 laps, before surrendering the lead to Chris Burge.

Burge would take the checkered flag first, but was disqualified for a rules infraction.

Street Stock heat winners Rich Emel and Josh Mooney battled for fifth place on the last lap in the feature, before making contact and giving both cars damage.

Emel’s car was towed back to the pit area, as Mooney’s car had to go on the flatbed.

Eric Banashefski won the Sport Modifieds Feature, as well as the heat race.  He led all 30 laps in the feature for the win.

Former track champ Mike Sweeney took full control of the Late Model Feature and heat race.  Sweeney had to battle with Steve Shultz for a few laps, but held on for the win.

Matt Mattern picked up his first win at Evergreen in the Pure Stocks feature.

Stephanie Moyer finished second, but gave her sponsor, Cargill, something to smile about on Driver Appreciation Day.

Moyer took the first of two heats for the Pure Stocks.  Cargill sponsored Driver Appreciation Day, cooking and grilling steaks for the first 300 drivers and crewmembers through the pit gate.

Tom Casagrande picked up the win in the second heat.

Scored separately as their own division, a handful of Enduro drivers competed with the Pure Stock and Four Cylinder divisions. Tony Hilliard picked up the Four Cylinder victory and Steve Tito took top honors in the 6/8-Cylinder division.

The Sunday, May 11 show will feature the Twin 20s for the Modifieds, as well the Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders, Dirt Modifieds, and INEX Legends.

Street Stocks (30 laps):  1. RANDY SCHLENKER 2. Chip Wanamaker 3. Rich Emel 4. Owen Grennan 5. Josh Mooney 6. Bernie Uphold 7. Todd Ahner 8. Robert Fink 9. Matt Wentz 10. Aaron Higgins 11. Dennis Buss 12. Greg Long 13. Aaron Kromer 14. Alan Schlenker DQ Chris Burge

Sport Modifieds (30 laps): 1. ERIC BANASHEFSKI 2. Jim Bojohnny 3. Paul Hartwig Jr.

Pure Stocks (20 laps): 1. MATT MATTERN 2. Stephanie Moyer 3. Frank Katona 4. Tom Casagrande 5. Steve Tito 6. Larry Spencer III 7. Jim Collier

Late Model (30 laps): 1. MIKE SWEENEY 2. Steve Shultz 3. Mark Tyson 4. Josh Oswald

Four Cylinder (20 laps): 1. NICK BAER 2. Heather Fennell 3. Eric Banashefski 4. Ray Fennell III 5. Ray Fennell IV 6. Anthony Pugliese 7. Matt Westover 8. Bill Price Jr. 9. Jay Skupski 10. Ron Heeter 11. Chuck McDonald 12. Tony Hilliard 13. Devon Nethercott DQ Robert Fink

Return-to-Mountain Speeway News and Results