Donny Hartzell and Jim Bojohnny Take Evergreen Modified Victories

Date: 5/11/2014 8:56:41 PM

For immediate release…thank you


Evergreen Raceway Park media contact:

Gene Ostrowski  (570) 231-1272      

Manager:  Harry Buchman (570) 401-3021


Upcoming Shows

Sunday, May 18- Armed Forces Day

Modifieds, Late Models, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders, INEX Legends and Atlantic Coast Old Timers

Free Admission for Military (Must show valid I.D.)


Saturday, May 24- Memorial Day Weekend

Sport Modifieds (35 Laps), Late Models (35 Laps), Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders and INEX Legends

Free Admission for Military (Must show valid I.D.)


Sunday, May 25- Modified Poker Series Race #1

Kids Big Wheel Races

Modifieds (75-Lap Poker Series Race #1), Street Stocks ($35 Laps), Dirt Modifieds and INEX Legends


Donny Hartzell and Jim Bojohnny Take Evergreen Modified Victories

By: Gene Ostrowski

May 11, 2014


St. Johns, PA- A pair of 20-lap main events for the mighty Modifieds set the stage for a great night of asphalt racing Sunday afternoon at Evergreen Raceway Park. In a heated four way battle to the finish in the first Modified feature, Donny Hartzell of Hunlock Creek held off Randall Richard and Brian Sones to score his first divisional victory since 2005. The second 20-lapper was even more spectacular, as Jim Bojohnny, also of Hunlock Creek, fended off Brian DeFebo to notch his first ever victory behind the wheel of a Modified. For the second week in a row, Randy Schlenker of Walnutport scored the Street Stock victory and Nick Baer of New Tripoli visited victory lane for the second straight week in Four Cylinder action. After winning the heat race earlier in the afternoon, Stephanie Moyer of Sheppton put some distance between herself and Matt Mattern, Jr. to notch her first Pure Stock victory of the season and New Jersey’s Jack Ely visited victory lane for the first time at the speedway in the Dirt Modified division.


After splitting heat race wins earlier in the day, Hartzell and Richards started at the front of the Modified field for the first 20-lap feature. Hartzell led the opening lap over Brian Sones, Scott Adams, Jerry Hildebrand and Richards, but Sones took his turn at the lead by a bumper on lap two. Two laps later Hartzell retook the top spot before the caution waved on lap five when Hildebrand and Adams got together on the backstretch.


Following the restart, Sones again overtook Hartzell to lead lap six and the Hartzell grabbed the spot back on the following circuit. Meanwhile, Hildebrand and Todd Baer joined the mix up front. Shortly after, Brian DeFebo cracked the top five and the got by Baer for fourth on lap 12. However, DeFebo gave up the spot when he suffered a flat tire on lap 14, which slowed the field for the second time.


Green flag racing resumed and Hartzell held off several charges from the hungry competitors in his mirror and in a final attempt to take the checkers, both Sones and Richard made a move to take the lead. The pair came up a little short and Hartzell took his first Modified win since 2005. Richard ended up finishing in second, followed by Sones, Baer, and Brandon Oltra.


Jim Bojohnny led the Modified field to the drop of the green flag from the pole position in the second 20-lap feature. He led the opening lap over Hildebrand, DeFebo, Matt Higgins and Baer.


With a lap in the books DeFebo got around Hildebrand for second and began to hound the leader, but Bojohnny held his own and stayed out front. Hildebrand fought back and briefly took the lead on lap 13 and then that all changed on lap 14 when DeFebo took a look underneath Bojohnny in turn four. The pair touched wheels and DeFebo spun, which forced him to restart from the rear of the field. When green flag racing resumed, Bojohnny held the lead over Hildebrand.


A yellow flag waved with four laps remaining when Baer and Oltra tried to split Adams on the front stretch. They all touched as they entered turn one and the change of events gave DeFebo another shot at Bojohnny.


Although the second place driver gave him a run for his money in the final laps, Bojohnny was able to play a bit of defense to secure his first career victory. DeFebo settled for second, followed by Richard, Adams and Hildebrand.


Ricky Yetter started from the pole position in the 25-lap Dirt Modified feature but was overtaken by sixteen-year-old Jack Ely before a lap was scored. The pair stayed nose to tail in the early going before Ely pulled away and off to his first ever victory at the speedway. Yetter finished in second, followed by Ron Krex, Mark Levy and Mike Stofflet.


Ely was also the heat race winner.


Randy Schlenker started from the pole position and led the opening circuit of the 30-lap Street Stock feature over TJ Gursky, Bernie Uphold, Chip Wanamaker and Joe Stavoy. Right from the drop of the green, Wanamaker made it three wide to take second, but had to settle back into fourth.


With Schlenker still in command and following two quick yellow flags, Wanamaker had climbed to second, with Gursky, Uphold and Robert Fink in tow. Although he tried to reel in the leader. Schlenker began to pull from second place.


The final yellow flew with eight laps remaining, which gave Wanamaker one last shot at Schlenker. On rails, Schlenker drove off to his second straight win, followed by Wanamaker, Uphold, Gursky and Fink.


Schlenker was also the heat race winner.


After splitting heat race wins with Dave Chapman, Nick Baer started from the pole and led the opening circuit of the 20-lap Four Cylinder feature over Chapman, Anthony Pugliese, John Banashefski and Bob Azarowicz.


With Baer still showing the way, Chapman suffered a mechanical issue and pulled to the infield on lap five. The turn of events moved Banashefski up to second.


With no yellows thrown to slow the action, Baer cruised to his second straight victory over Banashefski, Pugliese, Azarowicz and Larry Spencer III.


After taking the Pure Stock heat race win, Stephanie Moyer led the field to the drop of the green in the 20-lap feature. She led the first circuit over Matt Mattern, Jr, Tom Cassagrande, Frank Katona and Tony Hilliard.


Only one quick yellow on lap 17 slowed the action and Moyer was flawless on the restart. She went on to take her first feature win of the season over Mattern and Cassagrande.


Evergreen Raceway Park is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. For more information, including upcoming shows, rules, payouts and news, please visit


Modified Feature #1 (20-laps) 1. DONNY HARTZELL 2. Randall Richard 3. Brian Sones 4. Todd Baer 5. Brandon Oltra 6. Brian DeFebo 7. Scott Adams 8. Jerry Hildebrand 9. Matt Higgins 10. Jim BoJohnny


Modified Feature #2 (20-laps) 1. JIM BOJOHNNY 2. Brian DeFebo 3. Randall Richard 4. Scott Adams 5. Jerry Hildebrand 6. Brandon Oltra 7. Todd Baer 8. Donny Hartzell 9. Matt Higgins 10. Brian Sones


Street Stock (30-laps) 1. RANDY SCHLENKER 2. Chip Wanamaker 3. Bernie Uphold 4. TJ Gursjy 5. Robert Fink 6. Joe Stavoy 7. Dennis Buss


Dirt Modified (25-laps) 1. JACK ELY 2. Ricky Yetter 3. Ron Krex 4. Mark Levy 5. Mike Stofflet


Pure Stock (20-laps) 1. Stephanie Moyer 2. Matt Mattern, Jr. 3. Tom Cassagrande 4. Frank Katona 5. Tony Hilliard


Four Cylinder (20-laps) 1. NICK BAER 2. John Banashefski 3. Anthony Pugliese 4. Bob Azarowicz 5. Larry Spencer III 6. Ray Fennell IV 7. Ray Fennell III 8. Heather Fennell 9. Frank Hughes 10. Shayne Geist 11. Ron Heeter 12. Dave Champman

Return-to-Mountain Speeway News and Results