Repeat winners rule Path Valley

Date: 5/30/2010 9:44:52 PM

Repeat winners rule Path Valley
By Rob Keller

On a night when most of the race tracks in the area cancelled due to 
rain, or the forecast for rain, Path Valley Speedway kept the show on 
as scheduled and never got a drop of rain until well after the program 
was over.

John Rasp started on the pole and led all twenty laps of the 
4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature for his second win this year.  Tom Crum 
inherited second place on lap six when Gary Dehart got a flat right 
rear tire while running second.  After the restart Crum stayed right 
with Rasp and made repeated attempts to pass on the inside, but he 
could not find a way to make a clean pass and settled for second.  
Justin Rasp finished third ahead of D.J. Keefer and Bill Kennedy.  
John Rasp also won the heat race.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature was won by pole-sitter Jim Brookens as 
he led every lap for his third win of the year.  Tim Dietz was running 
a strong second until he pitted on lap ten.  Tyler Walton took over 
second when Dietz retired and closed the gap on Brookens in the 
closing laps, but was still a car length behind when the checkered 
flag fell.  Timmie Barrick, Jim Young, and Jesse Fitz rounded out the 
top five.  The heat race was won by Young.

Mark Watkins was scheduled to start second in the PA Sprint Series 305 
Sprint feature, but when second place starter Matt Mountz rolled onto 
his side in turn one of the initial start that moved Watkins into the 
front row.  On the restart Watkins drove around pole-sitter Rodney 
Westhafer and into the lead.  Watkins never looked back after that, 
and with no cautions to slow the action Watkins was leading by half a 
lap at the finish.  It was Watkins second win in three races at Path 
Valley this season.  Westhafer posted his best finish at Path Valley 
by holding on to second, while Mountz rebounded from his lap one 
incident to finish third.  ?Cowboy? Jim Kennedy finished fourth, just 
ahead of Ben Naugle.  Watkins also claimed the heat win.

Dave Friedrich has found a successful recipe for winning in the Mini 
Stock class at Path Valley, start on the pole, let Bryan Neff lead a 
few laps, and then drive away from the field for the win.  That is 
what Friedrich did two weeks ago for his first win and he did exactly 
the same thing Friday night.  The best action of the night was for 
second place when Neff and Gary Newell raced side-by-side for nearly 
five laps.  Newell finally got the runner-up spot on lap nineteen.  
Neff held on to third, just ahead of Leroy Long, and Gary Dehart 
finished fifth.  Heat race wins went to Friedrich and Neff.

The McAndrew brothers, Sean and Ryan, have been strong team in the 
270cc Micro Sprint ranks at Path Valley for several years.  Friday 
night they were able to pull of the rare one-two finish.  Sean 
McAndrew started second and drove around pole-sitter Jay Horvath in 
turn three on lap one.  He led the remaining twenty laps for his third 
win of the year.  The race was caution free and Ryan McAndrew started 
twelfth.  He was running third, several car lengths behind Brian 
Marriott late in the race.  But Marriott?s car slowed as they took the 
white flag and Ryan sped past to take second.  Marriott limped around 
the final lap and finished third ahead of Horvath and Steve Whary.  
Ryan McAndrew and Horvath were the heat winners.

Path Valley Speedway returns to action next Friday night, June 4th, 
with their weekly four classes joined by the Legend Cars and 
Sidewinders.  And on Saturday, June 5th, the Super Stocks and Strictly 
Stocks will be joined by the 270cc and 600cc Micro Sprints along with 
the Mini Stocks and 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars.

Return-to-Path Valley Speedway Park News and Results