Burkholder and Whary with breakthrough wins

Date: 6/12/2010 1:18:03 PM

Burkholder and Whary with breakthrough wins
By Rob Keller

For what seems like the first time this year sunny skies and no 
chance of rain greeted the racers and fans as they came to Path Valley 
Speedway Friday night.  And it was a solid turnout on both sides of 
the fence on Path Valley Family Restaurant Night.

The 600cc Micro Sprint feature started the night?s main events.  
Tyler Walton started on the pole and led every lap for his third win 
this year.  In victory lane Walton got to thank his wife, Lindsay, for 
the first time as his wife as they were married just a few weeks ago.  
Jim Young started fourth and was into second on lap one.  Young kept 
Walton within a few car lengths but was not able to get any closer.  
Richie Fitz, substituting for Jesse Fitz, started and finished third.  
Jim Brookens came from eleventh to finish fourth and Gary Funck 
finished fifth.  Brookens and Stan Fleming won their heat races.

Frank Gordon started on the pole of the Mini Stock feature driving 
the only non-Ford in the event.  With only one caution slowing the 
race on lap twelve, Gordon led every lap for his second win this year. 
  Gordon said in victory lane that he was surprised how well he ran 
because he normally does better on a hard, slick track and the track 
was smooth, tacky, and very fast.  Ryan Laye ran second the entire 
race until slowing with mechanical woes with two laps to go.  Kevin 
Thomas started twelfth and took over second when Laye began to slow.  
Mark Grove finished third ahead of Leroy Long and Gary Dehart.  Dehart 
and Dave Friedrich were the heat winners.

Levi Peck made it three in a row for the pole-sitters, leading every 
lap of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature for his second win in 2010.  
Although Peck was credited for leading every lap, Brian Marriott 
passed Peck for the lead on lap eight.  But before they could get back 
to the finish line Marriott slowed and headed to the pits.  Peck had 
one more challenge before it was over.  Ryan McAndrew started 
eighteenth after dropping out of his heat race with a broken chain.  
Peck was leading and dealing with heavy lapped traffic and McAndrew 
was charging hard.  With just a few laps remaining McAndrew looked to 
go inside of Peck as they entered turn one.  They made slight contact 
and McAndrew had to slow for just a moment to regain control.  That 
gave Peck the advantage he needed as he won by just over a car length. 
  Kevin Garman ran third the entire event, finishing ahead of Steve 
Whary while Sean McAndrew came from nineteenth to finish fifth.  Heat 
race wins went to Peck and Sean McAndrew.

Tim Burkholder made the switch from Mini Stocks to Late Models three 
years ago.  Since then he has been struggling to find the same success 
he had in the past.  Friday night Burkholder found victory lane for 
the first time as a Late Model driver.  Burkholder started on the pole 
and led every lap.  The only threat to his lead came on a restart on 
lap nine when Burkholder got sideways in turn four, but was able to 
regroup before Tim Fedder could make a move.  The restart was 
following a caution caused by Roger Laughlin and Bob Dunn making 
contact and spinning on the backstretch while racing for second.  
Fedder finished second, Steve Bailor third, Dave Dunkle fourth, and 
Laughlin in fifth.  Bailor won the heat race.

It appeared the pole-sitter would win five in a row as Ryan Lynn led 
the first half of the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint feature.  But when 
Lynn slowed while trying to lap another car on lap eleven, Steve Whary 
passed both of them on the backstretch to take the lead.  Whary was in 
control the rest of the way, including a restart with two laps to go.  
This was Whary?s first win in the 305 Sprint division in only his 
second year of racing in that class.  Lynn held on for second ahead of 
Gary Zimmerman, Ben Naugle, and Rodney Westhafer.  The heat win went 
to Tyler Bear.

In the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature it appeared the pole-sitter 
would again take the win as D.J. Keefer started first and led the 
first fifteen laps.  With Keefer leading, Tom Crum and Denny Scofield 
battled for the runner-up spot.  Crum finally cleared Scofield and 
began to reel in Keefer.  After several failed attempts to take the 
lead, Crum made the winning move going high into turn one and then 
turning down underneath Keefer exiting turn two.  The win is Crum?s 
third this year.  Keefer finished second, Scofield third, Justin Rasp 
fourth, and Bill Kennedy fifth.  John Rasp won the heat race.

Path Valley Speedway returns to action next Friday night, June 18th, 
with the Sidewinders and Legend Cars joining their four regular classes.

Path Valley results for 6/11

600cc Micro Sprint: Tyler Walton (Mifflintown, PA), Jim Young, Richie 
Fitz, Jim Brookens, Gary Funck, Kameron Morral, Cale Reigle, Joe Kay, 
John Baker, Stan Fleming, Ray Hansen, Lance Newlin, Al Potosky, Mark 
Brown   Heats: Brookens, Fleming

Mini Stock: Frank Gordon (Ft. Loudon, PA), Kevin Thomas, Mark Grove, 
Leroy Long, Gary Dehart, Jeremy Ott, Bryan Neff, Shawn Moore, Ryan 
Laye, Gary Newell, Todd Hornbaker, Eric Seibert   DNS: Dave Friedrich  
  Heats: Dehart, Friedrich

270cc Micro Sprint: Levi Peck (Orrstown, PA), Ryan McAndrew, Kevin 
Garman, Steve Whary, Sean McAndrew, Jason Houtz, Daryl Beakler, Jay 
Horvath, Colby Dice, Eric Forsythe, Dan Beshore, Megan Kay, Jacob 
McConnell, Jason Klinger, Nate Heindel, Curtis Brown, Brian Marriott, 
Bryan Hart   DNS: Kameron Morral   Heats: Peck, Sean McAndrew

Late Model: Tim Burkholder (Shippensburg, PA), Tim Fedder, Steve 
Bailor, Dave Dunkle, Roger Laughlin, Bob Dunn, Kyle Wiser   Heat: Bailor

PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint: Steve Whary (Lebanon, PA), Ryan Lynn, 
Gary Zimmerman, Ben Naugle, Rodney Westhafer, Tyler Bear, Marcus 
Defreitas, Mike Alleman   Heat: Bear

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: Tom Crum (Carlisle, PA), D.J. Keefer, Denny 
Scofield, Justin Rasp, Bill Kennedy, John Rasp, Eric Grubb, Shaun 
Linn, Jeff Koser   Heat: John Rasp

Photo ID's:
Photos by Rich Halter

pvrk61110315 - Tyler Walton with his wife Lindsay, 600cc Micro Sprint winner

pvrk61110322 - Frank Gordon, Mini Stock winner

pvrk61110332 - Levi Peck, 270cc Micro Sprint winner

pvrk61110343 - Tim Burkholder, Late Model winner

pvrk61110347 - Steve Whary, PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint winner

pvrk61110359 - Tom Crum, 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner

Return-to-Path Valley Speedway Park News and Results