Bachetti Emerges from Funk with Lebanon Valley Modified Win

Date: 5/31/2015 9:19:54 PM

Bachetti Emerges from Funk with Lebanon Valley Modified Win
by Phil Allaway

West Lebanon, NY:

On Saturday night, rain once again threatened at Lebanon Valley Speedway.  The card started ten minutes early due to the impending rain, which turned out to be just enough time to get the Modified feature in.

Denny Soltis, who ran well last weekend before engine issues put him out, started from the pole once again.  However, on this occasion, Soltis had a very hungry Andy Bachetti alongside. 


Once the green flag fell, Bachetti floored it and left Soltis in the dust.  While Bachetti opened up a decent lead, a small pack of drivers fought over second including Soltis, Jeff Watson and Kolby Schroder.  Brian Berger was in that group as well.  However, Berger cut a right rear tire and slowed on lap 5, bringing out the first yellow.  Berger pitted to replace the right rear and continued.


Rookie Tyler Chartrand’s transition to the Big Block Modifieds has not been an easy one.  Saturday night was just one more example.  On lap 9, Chartrand stopped on track in turn 2 and drew a caution.  A couple of laps later, he caught the wall in turn 3 and brought out another yellow.  Despite the incidents, Chartrand was able to continue and finished 18th.

The yellows brought the season’s top contenders, Brett Hearn and Kenny Tremont, Jr. into the hunt as well.  Hearn moved himself up from 14th starting spot into the top-5 within the first six laps.  Superior pace allowed Hearn to make more passes, then take second from Watson on lap 10.  However, Hearn could not make much ground on Bachetti.  Past winner Keith Flach was also in the hunt, but a power steering fluid leak dropped him back down the other.

A spin for Kyle Armstrong while racing for position with Kyle Sheldon brought out a yellow and set up a six lap shootout.  Once the green fell, Bachetti opened up a steady gap and held on for the win.

Afterwards, Bachetti was relieved to get back to Victory Lane.


“The car was very good tonight,” Bachetti said.  “We’ve made a lot of changes and…it’s definitely been a rough go.  However, we’re sitting here in Victory Lane and it’s not an easy feat to win races here [at Lebanon Valley].”


In the Small Block Modifieds, parity is the order of the game.  Chad Pierce started from the pole and led early.  However, it seemed that much of the field was racing at the same speed.  The only driver that seemed to be progressing early on was JR Heffner, who moved up from the tenth starting spot into the top-5 fairly quickly.


Alan Houghtaling spun and hit the wall along with Ryan Darcy to bring out the first yellow on lap 14.  Timothy Davis was also.  All three drivers continued.


Just before the yellow flew, Heffner was able to take second from Ryan Charland.  With the pack closed up, Heffner made short work of Pierce on the restart.  Another yellow flew due to a crash involving Shane Jablonka on lap 18, but from there, Heffner had clear sailing to his second Small Block Modified win of the year.


In Pro Stock, Rick Dempsey started on the pole and assumed the early advantage.  Chad Arsenault passed Sparky Reilly to take second.  However, the man on the move early on was Jon Routhier.  The Connecticut native quickly moved up from eighth to second in the first few laps.


Once Routhier got to Dempsey, the battle did not take long as Routhier took the lead on lap 7.  The rest of the field did get a couple of restarts to try to get past the opening night winner.  The first occurred after Chuck Towslee hit the wall in turn 1 on lap 9.  Towslee was ok, but he was done for the night.

A lap after Towslee’s crash, Tom Harkins got out of the groove entering turn 1 and hit the wall hard with the right rear first.  Harkins’ No. 07 spun around and slid down the track, where he was hit by Joe LaFlamme.  Both drivers were ok, but done for the night.


The rest of the race saw a huge battle for second between Dempsey, Jay Corbin, Robbie Speed and Rob Yetman.  Corbin got second with two laps to go, then jumped the cushion, allowing Dempsey to get the spot back.  Meanwhile, Routhier was able to pull away to take the win over Dempsey, Corbin, Yetman and Speed.


In the Pure Stock class, Harold Robitaille, Doug Olds and Gary O’Brien each won features.  O’Brien also won the Crate Street Stock feature.  The 4-Cylinder feature was rained out and has been rescheduled for June 13th.




Wohrle’s Quality Foods and Empire Chemical Sales Modified Feature Results: 1) Andy Bachetti, 2) Brett Hearn, 3) Kenny Tremont, Jr., 4) Jeff Watson, 5) Steve Hough, 6) Kyle Sheldon, 7) Stewart Friesen, 8) JR Heffner, 9) Eddie Marshall, 10) Keith Flach, 11) Matt Pupello, 12) Brian Berger, 13) Kyle Armstrong, 14) Mike King, 15) Wayne Jelley, 16) Elmo Reckner, 17) Ken McGuire, 18) Tyler Chartrand, 19) Paul Gilardi, 20) Denny Soltis, 21) Kyle Hoffman, 22) Rob Pitcher, 23) Kolby Schroder, 24) Dave McFeeters, 25) Chad Jeseo.  DNS: Olden Dwyer


Small Block Modified Feature Results: 1) JR Heffner, 2) Frank Hoard, III, 3) Brett Haas, 4) Kenny Tremont, Jr., 5) Wayne Jelley, 6) Chad Pierce, 7) Olden Dwyer, 8) Jason Herrington, 9) Ryan Charland, 10) Brian Sandstedt, 11) Kim LaVoy, 12) Alan Houghtaling, 13) Demetrios Drellos, 14) Peter Carlotto, 15) Dave Hinsch, 16) David Schilling, 17) Ryan Darcy, 18) Bryan McGuire, 19) Timothy Davis, 20) Shane Jablonka, 21) Jeff Kelley.  DNS: Steve Hough


Pro Stock Feature Results: 1) Jon Routhier, 2) Rick Dempsey, 3) Jay Corbin, 4) Rob Yetman, 5) Robbie Speed, 6) Daniel Sanchez, 7) Paul LaRochelle, 8) Chad Arsenault, 9) Victor Hopkins, 10) Nick Hilt, 11) Steven LaRochelle, 12) Hugh Page, 13) Sparky Reilly, 14) Milo Campbell, 15) Tom O’Connor, 16) Chris Lunn, 17) Frank Twing, 18) Rick Duzlak, 19) Tom Harkins, 20) Joe LaFlamme, 21) Chuck Towslee, 22) Brian Keough, 23) Mike Bradley.  DNS: Mark Dupuis


Pure Stock Feature No. 1 Results: 1) Harold Robitaille, 2) Joe Wolcott, 3) Aaron Fachini, 4) Keri Vandenburg, 5) Zach Sorrentino, 6) Joe Cheneil, 7) Brian Walsh, 8) Joey Morey.  DNS: Jeff Kreutziger, Phil Sherman


Pure Stock Feature No. 2 Results: 1) Doug Olds, 2) Scott Morris, 3) Dan Olds, 4) Scott Kilmer, 5) Travis Hengen, 6) Dylan Fachini, 7) Jim Gronki, 8) Tim Thompson, 9) David Olds, Jr., 10) Wuggie Burdick.  DNS: Jerry Morey


Pure Stock Feature No. 3 Results: 1) Gary O’Brien, 2) Al Relyea, 3) Ray Hall, Sr., 4) Jesse Murphy, 5) Jason Meltz, 6) Larry Perez, 7) Lou Gancarz, 8) Terry McNamara, 9) Shawn Perez, 10) Ed Hatch, 11) Clifford Booth, 12) Dan Cote, 13) Jeff Meltz, Sr., 14) Dave Stickles.  DNS: Mike Eichstedt


Crate Street Stock Results: 1) Gary O’Brien, 2) John Filarecki



For more information, the 2015 schedule, and links to what's on tap for 2015, visit our website at, and click on “Speedway”, or call the LVAR Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.


Come see what Everyone is talking about! 

"Family, Fun, Excitement... Every Saturday Night!" 

Return-to-Lebanon Valley Speedway News and Results