Hearn Goes Back-to-Back on High Banks

Date: 6/15/2015 12:32:36 AM

Hearn Goes Back-to-Back on High Banks
by Phil Allaway

Saturday night brought somewhat stagnant temperatures and a very smooth surface to Lebanon Valley.  As a result, the speeds were up.  However, even with the changes, the same chap took home the big check in the end.


Denny Soltis started on the pole, but quickly lost his advantage to Chad Jeseo.  The power steering issues cured, Jeseo was able to pull out to a small advantage on the rest of the field.

Kenny Tremont, Jr.’s charge from 14th starting spot was briefly derailed when Mike King spun due to a stack-up on lap 4.  Tremont tried to spin to avoid King, but ended up hitting him.  Luckily for Tremont, his car was undamaged, allowing him to continue from the rear.  King tried to continue, but eventually pulled off.

Brett Hearn was not delayed by the lap 4 incident.  By that point, he’d already charged up to fourth from 15th.  On the restart, he got past Matt Pupello for third.  With that, Jeseo, Kyle Armstrong and Hearn pulled away from the pack.  A few laps later, Hearn had taken second from Armstrong and started working on Jeseo. While Jeseo was strong early, he and his team are still learning their new Teo chassis.  After Jeseo slipped a little bit, Hearn was able to motor by and take the lead on lap 14.

Once out front, Hearn pulled away until Keith Flach lost an engine in a spectacular way on lap 18.  Naturally, the caution flew and the pack closed up.


Shortly after the restart, Brian Berger was able to get past Jeseo for second, but he simply wasn’t able to do much with Hearn.  Despite a late restart, Hearn pulled away to take his second in a row.

Afterwards, Hearn explained that he was actually worried at the beginning.


“I was a little worried because the track conditions were significantly different than last week,” Hearn said.  “Luckily, the car felt good, so we just went with it.  It ended up being tight.  It felt better than it did last week.”


Behind Hearn and Berger was Kyle Armstrong with a season-best third-place finish.  Andy Bachetti was fourth, while Tremont was able to charge back up to fifth.


In the Small Block Modifieds, Timothy Davis led from the pole early on with Brian Sandstedt giving chase, much like a Boo Diddly in Super Mario Brothers 3.  Sandstedt tried multiple times to get his Darcy Construction No. 12 past Davis, but just could not get himself past.


Back in the pack, Tremont, Brett Haas and JR Heffner were moving up from outside of the top 10.  It took a while to make in-roads with everyone being so equal, but they eventually put themselves in contention.  Alan Houghtaling’s spin on lap 15 while fighting for fourth with Tremont turned out to be a game changer, though.

On the restart, Tremont easily dispatched Peter Carlotto for third, then Sandstedt for second.  Another yellow due to Olden Dwyer stalling on track put Tremont right on Davis’ bumper bar.  It took barely a lap for Tremont to take the advantage away from the rookie.  From there, Tremont pulled away to take his first Small Block Modified win of the year, and with it, a share of the points lead.  Heffner finished second from 15th on the grid, followed by Haas.  Wayne Jelley was fourth, followed by Jason Herrington.


In Pro Stock, Steven LaRochelle, benefiting from the full attention of his father, Paul, started from pole and led early on.  The race was interrupted by a couple of early spins that slowed the pace, but LaRochelle was able to maintain the advantage through two restarts.  Veteran Chuck Towslee, who started alongside LaRochelle was right on his tail and was eventually able to snag the lead on lap 5.


Behind the leaders, Rob Yetman was on a charge.  Driving a repaired No. 7 after being involved in a couple of incidents last week, Yetman charged up from 12th to third within six laps.  After a yellow came out due to Kim Duell’s spin, Yetman pounced on Towslee to take the lead on the restart.  From there, Yetman pulled away from the pack and was never challenged on the way to his second win of the year, expanding his record number of Pro Stock victories to 45.


In Pure Stock, Phil Sherman, Bill Deak, Jr. and Jesse Murphy each won features.  Gary O’Brien took the Street Stock win.  In 4-Cylinder, Chris Vandeputte won the delayed feature from May 30th while Tim Meltz won Single-Cam.  The regular feature saw Phil DeFiglio win overall and Dual-Cam while Brandon Ely won Single-Cam.  Finally, 72-year old Stan Wetmore won the Midstate Vintage Modifieds feature.


Key Bank and Doherty Brothers Construction Modified Feature Results: 1) Brett Hearn, 2) Brian Berger, 3) Kyle Armstrong, 4) Andy Bachetti, 5) Kenny Tremont, Jr., 6) Kyle Sheldon, 7) Eddie Marshall, 8) Steve Hough, 9) Chad Jeseo, 10) Paul Gilardi, 11) Elmo Reckner, 12) Kyle Hoffman, 13) Jeff Watson, 14) Kolby Schroder, 15) Wayne Jelley, 16) Ken McGuire, 17) Keith Flach, 18) Denny Soltis, 19) Matt Pupello, 20) Mike King, 21) Olden Dwyer.  DNS: Tyler Chartrand, JR Heffner, Dave McFeeters, Rich Salisbury


358 Small Block Modified Feature Results: 1) Kenny Tremont, Jr., 2) JR Heffner, 3) Brett Haas, 4) Wayne Jelley, 5) Jason Herrington, 6) Timothy Davis, 7) Frank Hoard, III, 8) Brian Sandstedt, 9) Alan Houghtaling, 10) David Schilling, 11) Dave Hinsch, 12) Chad Pierce, 13) Brian Peterson, 14) Demetrios Drellos, 15) Jeff Kelley, 16) Ryan Charland, 17) Olden Dwyer, 18) Peter Carlotto, 19) Ryan Darcy.  DNS: Tom Faxon


Pro Stock Results: 1) Rob Yetman, 2) Chuck Towslee, 3) Jon Routhier, 4) Jay Corbin, 5) Frank Twing, 6) Nick Hilt, 7) Daniel Sanchez, 8) Rick Dempsey, 9) Chad Arsenault, 10) Sparky Reilly, 11) Hugh Page, 12) John Santolin, 13) Tom O’Connor, 14) Tom Harkins, 15) Joe LaFlamme, 16) Steven LaRochelle, 17) Milo Campbell, 18) Kim Duell, 19) Brian Keough, 20) Mark Dupuis.  DNS: Rick Duzlak, Victor Hopkins, Chris Lunn, Robbie Speed


Pure Stock Feature No. 1 Results: 1) Phil Sherman, 2) Jeff Kreutziger, 3) Dylan Fachini, 4) Clifford Booth, 5) Joe Cheneil, 6) Tim Thompson, 7) Joey Morey, 8) Zach Sorrentino, 9) Wuggie Burdick, 10) James Hatch


Pure Stock Feature No. 2 Results: 1) Bill Deak, Jr., 2) Jeff Meltz, Jr., 3) Jim Groncki, 4) Harold Robitaille, 5) Gary Vandenburg, 6) Bill Deak, 7) Dennis O’Connor, Sr., 8) Dee Dee Cross, 9) Raymond Royals, 10) Aaron Fachini

Pure Stock Feature No. 3 Results: 1) Jesse Murphy, 2) Al Relyea, 3) Jason Meltz, 4) Ed Hatch, 5) Ray Hall, Sr., 6) Jeff Meltz, Sr., 7) Doug Olds, 8) Lou Gancarz, 9) Shawn Perez, 10) Dan Cote, 11) Brian Walsh, 12) Gary O’Brien, 13) Dave Stickles

Street Stock Results: 1) Gary O’Brien, 2) John Filarecki


May 30th 4-Cylinder Dual-Cam Results: 1) Chris Vandeputte, 2) Jared Powell, 3) Kelly Duncan, 4) Anthony Caruso, 5) Rick Hodges, 6) Kenny Stager

May 30th 4-Cylinder Single-Cam Results: 1) Tim Meltz, 2) Brandon Ely, 3) Jethro Rossan, 4) Gary Malloy, 5) Stephen Cameron, Jr., 6) Matt McCuin, 7) Bob Ely, 8) James Street, 9) Jim Williams, 10) Karen Verhagen


June 13th 4-Cylinder Dual-Cam Results: 1) Phil DeFiglio, 2) Steve Ryan, 3) Chris Vandeputte, 4) Ben Grant, 5) Jared Powell, 6) Alyssia Sanchez, 7) Kelly Duncan, 8) Todd Goldstein, 9) Kenny Stager


June 13th 4-Cylinder Single-Cam Results: 1) Brandon Ely, 2) James Street, 3) Tim Meltz, 4) Bob Ely, 5) Jethro Rossan, 6) Stephen Cameron, Jr., 7) Matt McCuin, 8) Jim Williams, 9) Gary Malloy, 10) Mike Verhagen



For more information, the 2015 schedule, and links to what's on tap for 2015, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “Speedway”, or call the LVAR Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.


Come see what Everyone is talking about! 

"Family, Fun, Excitement... Every Saturday Night!"


Return-to-Lebanon Valley Speedway News and Results