Date: 5/17/2010 6:36:31 PM

Contact: Dave Roberts

DIRTcar NorthEast PR | (315) 834-6606




CANANDAIGUA, NY_ Steve Poirier, Frank "Bubba" Burnell and Marc Minutolo won feature events at Canandaigua Speedway before the 11 p.m. curfew forced track officials to postpone the DIRTcar Modified and Sportsman features, setting up the race fan favorite twin DIRTcar Modified features this Saturday night. Double DIRTcar Sportsman features will be run on May 29th as part of the 50 lap Big-Block Modified feature event.

After a 10 car pile-up on lap one of the scheduled 25 lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature that required nearly 40 minutes of clean-up, Canandaigua officials were forced to modify the scheduled program in consideration to giving the race fans what they had come to see. With an impending 11 p.m. local curfew ordinance, the decision was made to bring out the 360 Sprint cars to be followed by the DIRTcar Modifieds. At the conclusion of the Modifieds they would bring back the DIRTcar Sportsman in hopes that we had given some drivers the opportunity to fix their cars. Unfortunately, the numerous cautions including a two-car rollover forced the event past curfew. "With the community being important to the overall success of our facility, it is important to support their ordinances without jeopardizing the fans experience", said Cory Reed of DIRTcar NE.

"I feel for all our dedicated race fans that support both Canandaigua Speedway and DIRTcar Racing overall," said DIRTcar NE Jeff Hachmann. "We did everything possible give the fans a complete show. Sometimes these things happen and it's unfortunate." In effort to give back, DIRTcar NE management has decided to offer "Curfew Cash" to all race fans who present their ticket stub from this past Saturday night at Canandaigua Speedway. "Curfew Cash" will give $2 off your grandstand admission to events on May 22nd or May 29th at Canandaigua Speedway. You can also use your ticket stub for the July 11th Wings and Warriors Night at Cayuga County Fair Speedway featuring the ESS Sprint Cars if you choose to do so. Furthermore, race fans can go online at to receive $2 off a General Admission ticket for one of the next two weeks events or the July 11th event at CCFS. That's right, you will have the potential to save up to $4 dollars for one of these three outstanding events.

In action that was completed, ASCS Sprint Car driver Steve Poirier from St. Mathieu de Beloeil, Qbc., led all 20 laps of the 2010 A-Verdi Storage Containers King of Upstate New York Series feature event. With track conditions resulting in ultra-fast speeds, starting out near the front was important and being strong on restarts was even more critical, something that Poirier is arguably the best at. Second was Jared Zimbardi followed by Justin Barger in third. Fourth was Bobby Breen and fifth was Lance Yonge.
Heat race winners were Steve Poirier, Justin Barger, Lance Yonge and George Suprick. B Main winners were Brian Howland and Alain Bergeron. The Laps of Fame Dash was won by Kyle Moffit.

In the 20 lap DIRTcar Car Stock main, Bubba Burnell took the lead on lap seven and went on to his first win of the season at Canandaigua Speedway. Chris Fisher finished second while Mike Welch was third. Victory Lane was special as Bubba had brought a special guest, a chicken that made it all the way from his home in Waterloo on his trailer. Unbeknownst to Bubba, when he left the house one of his chicken's had been on the trailer and harnessed himself for the 30 mile ride. He was given a standing ovation in Victory Lane as announcers gave him a new name, "Chicken Man".

In the 15 lap Factory Stock/Pure Stock feature, Marc Minutolo was the winner for the first time of the 2010 season at Canandaigua Speedway. Minutolo took the lead on lap five from Roger Bush and never relinquished it. Roger Bush held on for second followed by Bryan Lyons followed by George LaVare and Wade Young.

CANANDAIGUA NOTES: It was a beautiful night in Canandaigua as a huge crowd was on hand. DIRTcar Northeast got a huge response during its autograph session with Sportsman driver Steve Gray and Stock Car racer Frank "Bubba " Burnell. Both Gray and Burnell were also involved in a 50/50 selloff during intermission. The 50/50 draw was nearly $700. This week, another autograph session is scheduled with Sportsman driver Justin Henderson and Stock Car racer Mike Rasbeck. The session will take place from 5:30 to 6:00 p.m. at the DIRTcar apparel trailer.

For more information, please call the DIRTcar Northeast office at 315-834-6606 or go online at Don't forget to join the Canandaigua Speedway on Facebook, plus follow DIRTcar Racing on Twitter (@DIRTcarNE). Need All-Star Weekend tickets? The second annual All-Star Weekend gets underway July 16-17. For tickets for the All-Star Weekend, please go online at Ticket Force. ( or call the DIRTcar Northeast office.

A-Verdi A-Main (20 Laps)- 1. Steve Poirier (28FM), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Justin Barger (32), 4. Bobby Breen (9), 5. Lance Yonge (17J), 6. George Suprick (87), 7. Bryan Howland (51), 8. Jeff Cook (10), 9. Alain Bergeron (8B), 10. Don Adamczyk (21), 11. Tim Kelly (12), 12. Vern Wasson (5v), 13. Mike Stelter (36), 14. Jessica Zemken (14), 15. Chuck Hebing (45), 16. Shawn Donath (33), 17. Dylan Swiernik (7c), 18. Scott Bonnell (3B), 19. Bubba Broderick (5), 20. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 21. Cory Sparks (7s), 22. Kyle Moffit

DIRTcar Stock Cars: (20 laps)_ 1. Frank Burnell, 2. Chris Fisher, 3. Mike Welch, 4. Nate Peckham, 5. Pat Hobbs, 6. Bryan DeWitt, 7. Jason Whipple, 8. Andy Fisk, 9. Jack Terrell, 10. Tony Pangrazio, 11. Mike Rasback

Factory Stocks/Pure Stocks: (15 laps)_ 1. Marc Minutolo, 2. Roger Bush, 3. Bryon Lyons, 4. George LaVare Jr, 5. Wade Young, 6. Donald Drave, 7. Dale Bush, 8. Chris Gingerich, 9. Alex Morris, 10. Ross Lurcoch, 11. Mike Minutolo Jr, 12. Dave Buscemi.

Return-to-Canandaigua Speedway News and Results