Champ Show Night Format Success Again

Date: 11/24/2011 9:15:36 PM

Champ Show Night Format Success Again



November 24, 2011

By Bonnie Nibblett



Delmar, DE…..The New Format for Delaware State Dirt Track Championship in this second year continues to be a success. In 2010, it was the first time that the much anticipated end of the year champ show racing event changed the format from a two daytime racing special to the new two nights of racing after many, many years of being ran during the day.


The new format has the show earlier and in Oct. over the past dates of the first weekend in Nov. The entire weekend ran smoothly and seemed quickly to be over too fast for the die hard fans. No more NEED FOR SPEED to be fed to all us race fans for a few months. But winter will pass quickly hopefully and we’ll be back in no time. Meantime, it gives us a chance to go over this show and later the regular Saturday night drivers’ champs.


All the racing is over at the Delaware Motorsports Complex for the 2011 season. The US 13 Dragway & Speedway will have the awards banquet Jan. 6 & 7, 2012 at the Dover Convention Center & Casino. Banquet tickets & info can be found on the tracks web at or call the tracks office m-f, 9-4 PM at 302-875-1911 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              302-875-1911      end_of_the_skype_highlighting. They are now available $37.50 for adults & $18.75 for children 13 and under. Be sure to look us up on Facebook and follow us on twitter too.


On the Friday night show, the Small Block Modified ran the 50 lap feature with the 2010 defending winner, Billy Pauch, repeating the win again this year. Pauch in the 1W was strong from the start and collected $4905 for the win. There were 33 cars vie for the 30 spots available. The finishing order went Billy Pauch, Ryan Watt, Ray Swinehart, Wade Hendrickson, Bobby Drayten, Jack Swain, Jarrad Miller, Shawn Reimert, Jesse Hill, Sammy Piazza, Larry Solomon, Nate Christman, Neal Williams, Duane Rust, Brad Trice, Mike McAleer, Jamie Mills, Ron Roberts, Chris Esposito, Stan Frankenfield, Billy Briggs, Scott Hulmes, Pete Serra, Ryan Grim, A J DeSantis, Kevin Hirthler, Bobby Firth, Richie Pratt, H J Bunting III, Chris Hitchens, DNQ: Dwayne Heck, Duane Howard, George Richardson.


None of the local drivers finished above 14th this year. Heats were won by Ryan Watt 14W, Bobby Drayten 90HD, Richie Pratt, Jr. 0 and the consi by Duane Rust 296. The fastest lap in the heats was by Ray Swinehart 33X with 90.185 MPH. During the feature, Ritchie Pratt, Jr. was in the top five when in lap 6, he flipped going in turn 3 and landed on the roof. A fire broke out but was extinguished and Pratt was not injured, although his day was over. It was Drayten’s first time to Delmar and he appeared impressive overall.


The Little Lincoln Vintage Stock Car Club ran on Friday night with Steven Baker 79, picked up his first career win. Mark Cashdan finished his highest this year in 2nd. The finish was like this Steven Baker79, Mark Cashdan 8, Bill Brittingham 4, Jamie Wagner 3, Donald Robinson, Jr. 64 Jeff Adkins 55, Mike Warshaure 77, John Stevenson 14A, Buddy Bozman22, Brian Naylor 11, Dylan Betts 65, Tim Archer 7, Ryan Walsen 9.

Walsen lost a right rear wheel in turns 3 & 4 taking a hard roll over just out of turn 4. It’s not often those cars flip and it was a very hard landing.


Walsen was not injured but a little shook up. This event also concluded the clubs points for the season. Bill Brittingham took the clubs championship title to claim his 7th one and only collected 2 wins all season. The Banquet for the club will be held at the Ruritan Bldg, in Felton, DE on Jan. 14, 2012. Info can be found on the clubs web or on the message board.


On Saturday night the action continued with the remaining divisions features. Jamie Mills took home his first ever Delaware State Dirt Track Championship in the fall. It was a good feeling for Mills as he had back surgery during the off season and could not race pretty much all year. Mills showed he was still in top form as he turned the fastest lap of 87.239 MPH and also took the heat win along with Howard O’Neal & Mike Aleer.


The field finished Jamie Mills, Matt Jester, Brad Trice, Ryan Watt, Dominick Buffalino, Richie Pratt, Jr., Mike McAleer, Jimmy Chester, Shawn Ward, Eric Kormann, Brett Ballard, Steven Downs, Howard O'Neal, Larry Solomon, Sam Wescott, Kyle Fuller, Michael White, H J Bunting III, Beau Wilkins, Scott VanGorder, Kevin Hirthler, Ron Roberts, Robert Dutton, Wade Hendrickson, Ray Swinehart, Dale Hawkins, Billy Pauch, Sr., Dave Gerhart, Tim Trimble; DQ: David Van Horn Jr. DNQ: George Richardson, Stan Frankenfield, Chris Hitchens, Duane Rust, Pete Serra, Joseph Watson, Chad James, Billy Briggs, Neal Williams, Shawn Gunther, Jesse Hill, Scott Hulmes. The top 3 were local racers at the track during the year. There were 42 cars qualified for the 30 spots. Mills took home $5363 in winnings, however he didn’t pay the gamblers fee loosing out on additional monies.


The Super Late Model 50 lap feature was won by Delaware’s own Ricky “The Rocket” Elliott. Elliott raced at Delmar more this year while he was off from traveling as much this season and took home 6 wins along with this championship race at Delmar. Elliott ran a really smart race from the 2nd place starting position. Austin Hubbard 2010 Rookie of the Year World of Outlaws Late Model Series set the fastest lap at 93.579 MPH, he started on the pole and led almost all the laps until his tires starting going away. Elliott had saved his tires and took over the lead from Hubbard with only 5 laps left.


The finish went winner Ricky Elliott, Austin Hubbard, Kenny Pettyjohn, Scott Haus, David Williams, Mark Byram, Richard Jarvis, Jr. David Hill, Donald Lingo, Jr., Kevin Scott, Jr., Staci Warrington, Amanda Whaley, Rob Schirmer, Brett Schadel, Mike Parsons, Kerry King, Hal Browning, Herb Tunis, Sam Schaeffer, Kelly Putz, Bob Geiger, Lou Johnson, David Pettyjohn, Andrew Haus, Andrew Mullins, Roy Deese, Jr., Mark Pettyjohn, Dale Lingo IV. The field was primarily made up of our own local racers from through out the season, with 28 cars to start. Elliott won his heat along with Austin Hubbard & David Williams. Elliott did pay the gamblers fee to claim $6590.


We have 6 more support divisions left to discuss, so I will conclude for now and finish up next month on those winners. We have both crate classes, mod lites, vintage, slide for five and for the first time the Delmarva chargers.


The World of Outlaws Late Model Series concluded their season a couple weeks ago with the World Finals at Charlotte Speedway in North Carolina. The championship goes to a well deserved outlaw driver this year of Rick Eckert no. 24.


Hope everyone has a nice Thanksgiving Holiday.


The US 13 Kart Club Track has ended the season and will have their banquet in February. More on the season champs will be coming too. Visit the tracks web at


For all your Delaware news visit, Your Delaware and Surrounding tracks race news plus NASCAR, and also home of the largest racing message board on the shore. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter. Visit the largest racing message board on the shore at powered by See you at the track!

Bonnie  Nibblett Your Delaware And Surrounding Tracks Race News Plus  NASCAR

Return-to-Bonnie Nibblett -