Kline, Reiley Earn Slingshot Honors

Date: 1/10/2010 1:27:22 PM

Kline, Reiley Earn Slingshot Honors
The Slingshot by Tobias racers had their night to shine on Saturday night at the 2009 Awards Banquet held at the Lantern Lodge in Myerstown,PA.With over 180 drivers,owners,crew members and friends in attendance it was a night to honor not just the touring drivers,but the weekly champions in the Junior and All Star classes.
Special awards were part of the ceremonies and every single winner was present to accept their well earned accolades.The evening started with a great 4 meat buffet and a dessert table that is unrivaled in the area.Master of Ceremonies and AARN writer Barry Angstadt started the evening with a nice tribute to all who make the Slingshot by Tobias class as popular as it has become after just celebrating it's 10th Anniversary.
Some of the guests in attendance made trips from as far away as Minnesota and Florida,just to be a part of the celebration of a season to be remembered.The Junior Class is a big part of the growth of the Slingshots and the Great 8 were all honored with Cuddebackville,NY's Matt Reiley receiving top honors and taking the $400.00 portion of the Junior Point Fund.Next up was the All Star Elite 11 National rundown and the name at the top of the list taking home the $1200.00 prize from the National point fund was Bangor,PA's Cody Kline.Cody's total take including a credit aacount for Speedway Entertainment exceeded $2000.
Next on the agenda was the actual award presentations and the distribution of the point fund money. 95 % of the award recipients made the trip to Myerstown and with over $9,000 in point fund awards given back to the race teams,it was quite apparent that all teams took great pride in their 2009 racing season.Rounding out the awards for the Slingshots was the announcement of the Junior and All Star Drivers of the Year.In the Junior Class,a Junior National Championship and a race finishing record of no worse than 5th,it was time for Matt Reiley to return to the photo area as the winner of this award.For the All Stars,it was overwhelmingly apparent that after championships in the MA Gold,MA Silver, Speedweeks and a National Championship,the driver of the Bill Weaver owned 59,Cody Kline ,would receive Slingshots highest honor.
Local racing artist Scott Munroe made presentations to Matt Reiley,Cody Kline and the 2009 SpeedSTR champion Billy VanInwegen,Jr.
All the track operators and promoters in attendance were given time to let everyone know of their track plans for 2010.This is something unrivaled in much of motorsports as each track had a chance to talk shop with members of other speedways.Tracks represented were Caroga Creek,Linda's, West End Fair,Borgers,Hamlin,Wyalusing Valley,Kutztown and ended with Rich Tobias giving his special thanks to everyone and what to look forward to in 2010.
Special award winners for the 2009 Slingshot season were:
Best Appearing Car : Kyle Hieber
Most Improved Driver: Matt Mertz
Rising Star:Kyle Lick
Mechanic of the Year: Jim Glass
Hard Luck Award: Bill Weaver
Sportsmanship (tie): Kim Dornblaser / Brett Bieber
JR Rookie of the Year: JR Fulper
JR Hard Luck: TJ Lilly
JR.Mechanic: Jeff Johnson
Best Promotion: West End Fair
Promoter of the Year:Caroga Creek LLC
Dealer of the Year: S&S Speedways (Randy & Denise Smith)
John LeVan Memorial Writer of the Year: Mike Batz
Bill Hess Photographer of the Year: Becky Kosch
Mass Media Recognition: www.floridaslingshots.com
Photo: Local racing artist Scott Munroe presents one of a kind championship paintings to the Speedway Entertainment champions,Matt Reiley (Jrs.),Billy VanInwegen,Jr.(SpeedSTR's) and Cody Kline (All-Stars)
Mike Feltenberger

Strapped In Magazine / Publisher
Strapped In TV Show Host / BCTV

Event Organizer Slingshot by Tobias

Return-to-Slingshot News and Results